Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: Bibliographies, Research Handbooks, Citation

Research Handbooks & Bibliographies

Ancient Greek Scholarship: A Guide to Finding, Reading, and Understanding Scholia, Commentaries, Lexica, and Grammatical Treatises, from their Beginnings to the Byzantine Period by Eleanor Dickey
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks PA53 .D53 2006
NY: Oxford University Press, 2006
A Bibliographical Guide to Classical Studies by Graham Whitaker
Call Number: (RH) Ref Z7016.W48, 5 vols
NY: Olms-Weidmann, 1997.
A Bibliography of Dissertations in Classical Studies by Lawrence S. Thompson
Call Number: (RH) Ref Z7016.T47
Hamden,CT: Shoe String Press, 1976.
Brill's Companion to Ancient Scholarship by Franco Montanari (Editor); Stefanos Matthaios (Editor); Antonios Rengakos (Editor)
Leiden : Koninklijke Brill NV, 2014.
Brill's Companion to Roman Tragedy by George W. M. Harrison (Volume Editor)
Publication Date: 2015-08-14
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2015.
Classical Studies: A Guide to the Reference Literature, 2nd ed. by Fred W. Jenkins
Call Number: (RH) Ref PA 91.Al S4
Westport CT: Libraries Unlimited, 2006.

A guide to reference literature on Greek and Roman civilization from the Bronze Age through the 6th century A.D.
A Companion to Greek Studies by Leonard Whibley (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks DF77.W6
Cambridge: The University Press, 1931.
A Companion to Latin Studies, 3d ed. by John Edwin Sandys
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks PA2061.S3.
Cambridge: The University Press, 1943.
Handbook for Classical Research by David M. Schaps
Call Number: (RH) Stacks DE71 .S27 2011
New York, NY: Routledge, 2011.

Citation Manuals

Chicago or MLA styles are recommended for Classics scholarly writing. Turabian is a derivative of Chicago designed for undergraduate students and may also be used. Please check with your instructor to determine the recommended style. Consistency within one style is required.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by Kate L. Turabian; Joseph Bizup (Revised by); Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by)
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) Reference Desk LB2369 .T8 2018
Chicago ; London : The University of Chicago Press, [2018]. Also available electronically via our Digital Reserves Collection.
The Chicago Manual of Style (17th ed.)
University of Chicago Press, 2017
Call number Z253 .C57
Check the catalog for the location at your campus library.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 9th Edition by Joseph Gibaldi
Call Number: (LC, RH, & W) Ref PE1478 .M57
New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2021.

The MLA Style Center This link opens in a new window
Companion site to the MLA Handbook that features guidelines on formatting a research paper, sample papers in MLA style, a chapter on plagiarism and academic dishonesty republished from the handbook, resources for teaching, regularly updated tips on writing, and an FAQ by the MLA’s editors. Free resource designed as a supplement to the handbook, it covers aspects of writing not addressed in depth in the book. Does not contain full text of the handbook. Consult print format.
Free resource

Citation & Writing Websites

OWL - Purdue Online Writing Lab
Excellent site for citation information. Guidelines for APA, MLA, and Chicago citation styles.
Turabian Quick Guide
From the University of Chicago Press, this website provides a basic overview of the Turabian style.
Research & Documentation Online
From Bedford/St. Martin’s Press, this is the companion website to the Diana Hacker and Barbara Fister writing and research manual.
Fordham University Writing Centers
From the website: "Providing more than a proofreading service, our tutors will work with you on a variety of logical, rhetorical, and grammatical concerns in your writing. We can assist you with any type of writing from your curriculum, from conception, to composition, to completion. Our aim is not only to help you perfect an individual essay; we want to help you develop the tools you need to become a better writer. Our service is free and, if you come with the right expectations and the willingness to participate actively in the session, extremely effective. "
Writing Center Handouts & Resources
Guides created by the Writing Center staff to help student writers.

Classics: Bibliographies, Research Handbooks, Citation

Research Handbooks & Bibliographies

Citation Manuals

Citation & Writing Websites

Reference & Instruction Department