Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: Getting Started

Introduction

Classics is the study of the languages, literature, philosophy, history, art, and culture of the ancient Mediterranean world (Bronze Age ca. BC 3000 – Late Antiquity ca. AD 300–600); especially Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome during Classical Antiquity (ca. BC 600 – AD 600).

This guide is designed to introduce researchers to the Fordham University Library holdings in the subject areas of Classical Studies. Included are databases, dictionaries & encyclopedias, lexica & thesauri, collected full-text original language works, atlases, chronologies, bibliographies, handbooks, and more. Scholarly websites, significant or interesting circulating titles, and multimedia resources of note have also been included. If you need additional help, please consult a Reference Librarian.

Oxford Bibliographies - Classics

The Oxford Bibliographies Online are a great first stop when researching Classical languages, literature, philosophy, history, art, culture, or the ancient world. To get started, make sure you limit your search by Subject : Classics.

Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. The database contains many subjects, so start by first limiting by your subject or discipline. Citations are linked to full text when available.

The Department of Classics @ Fordham

The Fordham Department of Classics
The Fordham Department of Classics teaches courses in Ancient Greek, Latin, and classical civilization on both the Rose Hill and Lincoln Center campuses. The civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome are fundamental to the development of western history and continue to have an important influence today. The study of the Greco-Roman classics has always been central to Jesuit education.

Greek Alphabet

image from: www.mglta.org

New Titles

Carpe Diem: The Poetics of Presence in Greek and Latin Literature by Robert A. Rohland
Call Number: ebook
Cambridge, United Kingdom : Cambridge University Press, 2022.
The Folds of Olympus : Mountains in Ancient Greek and Roman Culture by Jason König
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PA3015.M7 K66 2022
Princeton : Princeton University Press, [2022]
Giuliano Da Sangallo and the Ruins of Rome by Cammy Brothers
Call Number: ebook
Princeton, New Jersey : Princeton University Press, [2022]
The Gods and Goddesses of Greece and Rome by Philip Matyszak
Call Number: (RH) Stacks BL723 .M36 2022
London ; New York : Thames & Hudson, 2022.
How to Say No : An Ancient Guide to the Art of Cynicism by M. D. Usher (Translated with commentary by); Diogenes
Call Number: (RH) Stacks B508 .D56 2022
Princeton : Princeton University Press, [2022]
A New History of Greek Mathematics by Reviel Netz
Call Number: (RH) Stacks QA22 .N282 2022
Cambridge, United Kingdom ; New York, NY : Cambridge University Press, 2022.
The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Mythography by R. Scott Smith (Editor); Stephen M. Trzaskoma (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks BL723 .O94 2022
New York, NY : Oxford University Press, [2022]