Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: Video & Internet Resources

Videos

Search the AVON database for streaming video content on your topic, such as: Ancient Greece, Ancient Rome, Ancient Cyprus, Ancient Egypt, etc.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
PBS Videos have been removed. More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes Dance, Music, Classical Performance, and Opera in Video. MUST STAY ON THE ACADEMIC VIDEO CHANNEL - DO NOT CLICK ON CHANNELS LINK. DO NOT EMBED LINKS OR CODE IN BLACKBOARD TO AVOID REMOTE AUTHENTICATION ISSUES. Rather, share the database-generated links via email, chat, or syllabi. What's New (and Some HIGHLIGHTS) in Academic Video Online...
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.

Other multimedia databases may also have streaming content.

Fordham Library Videos & Multimedia Collections
Search these databases for subject specific streaming content.

Search the library catalog for physical items:

Library Catalog

Internet Resources

The American Philological Association (APA)
The principal learned society in North America for the study of ancient Greek and Roman languages, literature, and civilization.
Ancient World Mapping Center
Hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, promotes cartography, historical geography, and geographic information science as essential disciplines within the field of ancient studies.
Diotima
Materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world. Includes course materials and visual images.
Electronic Resources for Classicists, the Second Generation
A well organized introduction to classics resources on the Internet, grouped by type of resource.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
Hosted by Fordham University, find here many resources for the research and study of ancient civilizations
Internet Classics Archive
Hosted by MIT, search and download the full-text of over 440 translations of classical texts.
LacusCurtius: Into the Roman World
Hosted by the University of Chicago, this is a gateway to selected full-text sources, research tools, and commentary on the study of Roman civilization.
Medicina Antiqua
Hosted by the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine at UCL . It is devoted to the study of medicine in the Graeco-Roman world.
PHI Latin Texts
A large database of searchable classical Latin texts maintained by the Packard Humanities Institute.
Chicago Homer
Searchable Greek text with English translation of Homer, Hesiod, and the Homeric Hymns; produced at Northwestern.
Pleiades
A gazetteer of ancient places with links to background information, and links between various maps.
Scholarly Societies Project: Classical Studies.
A list of scholarly societies that focus on various areas of classical studies. International in scope with links to the society websites.
Voice of the Shuttle, Classical Studies Page
Compiled at University of California, Santa Barbara.
VRoma
A virtual community dedicated to using internet technology to foster the teaching and learning of the Latin language and Roman culture.
Centre For Late Antique Religion & Culture (CLARC)
Hosted by Cardiff University, this website promotes and supports the study of late antique religion and culture from the late Hellenistic Period to the early Middle Ages, and in particular Classical Antiquity and the modern world.

Classics: Video & Internet Resources

Videos

Internet Resources

Reference & Instruction Department