Research Guides @ Fordham: Classics: Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Atlases, Languages

Encyclopedias

Ancient Greece and Rome: an Encyclopedia for Students
Call Number: (LC) DE5.A57 1998 V. 1-4
New York : Scribner, 1998.
The Encyclopedia of Ancient History by Roger S. Bagnall (Editor); Kai Brodersen (Editor); Craige B. Champion (Editor); Andrew Erskine (Editor); Sabine R. Huebner (Editor)
Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2013.
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition by Graham Speake (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DF757 .E53 2000, 2 vols.
Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Rev. ed. by David Sacks; Lisa R. Brody (Revised by)
New York [New York] : Facts On File, 2015.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World by Thomas J. Sienkewicz (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CB311 .E54 2002, 3 vols.
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2002.
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire, Rev. ed. by Matthew Bunson
Call Number: (RH) Ref DG270.B86 2002
New York: Facts on File, 2002.

An Inventory of Archaic and Classical Poleis by Mogens Herman Hansen; Thomas Heine Nielsen
Call Number: (RH) Stacks DF222.2.H36
Oxford University Press, 2004.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, 4th ed by Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor); Esther Eidinow
Call Number: (RH) Reference DE5 .O9 2012
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2012.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary, various editions by Simon Hornblower; Antony Spawforth; Esther Eidinow
Call Number: (RH, LC, W) Ref DE5 .O9 2012
New York: Oxford University Press, 2012.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (2007 edition) by John Roberts (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DE5 .O94 (2005 edition)
New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Panorama of the Classical World by Nigel Jonathan Spivey; Michael Squire
Call Number: (RH) Ref +DE59.S67 2004
Los Angeles: The J. Paul Getty Museum, 2004.

Historical Atlas of the Ancient World by Richard Szydlak (Editor); Anne Wittke (Editor); Eckhart Olshausen (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Atlas Ref + G1033 .B75 2010
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2010.
Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World by Richard J. A. Talbert (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Atlas Ref +G1033.B3, 2 vols.
Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2000.
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Civilizations by Simon Hall (Editor); J. Haywood (Editor); John Haywood
Call Number: (RH) Ref G1033 .H39 2005
London ; New York : Penguin, 2005.
Brill's Companion to Ancient Geography by Serena Bianchetti (Editor); Michele Cataudella (Editor); Hans-Joachim Gehrke (Editor)
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, [2016]

Latin Dictionaries have the call number: PA2365

Greek Dictionaries have the call number: PA445

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) This link opens in a new window
Comprises the data of BTL 4, supplemented by the texts of all Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana printed by 2008. Annual update.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) is separate from BTL, listed on Alpha Tab (T) and Classics Subject.
Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TLL) This link opens in a new window
Lipsiae: B. G. Teubneri, 1900.
(RH) Oversize Stacks +PA2361.T4
Database of Latin Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
Classical and Medieval Latin dictionaries.

Dictionnaire des Antiquites Grecques et Romaines, D'après les Textes et les Monuments by Charles Daremberg
Call Number: (RH) Ref DE5.D21 1919, 10 vols.
Paris: Hachette, 1877-1919.
Enciclopedia Dell’Arte Antica, Classica e Orientale
Call Number: (RH) Ref N31.E5, 7 vols.
Roma: Instituto della Enciclopedia Italiana, 1958-1966.
Lexicon Topographicum Urbis Romae by Eva Margareta Steinby
Call Number: (RH) Ref DG63.L49, 6 vols.
Roma: Edizioni Quasar, 1993.
Lexikon der Alten Welt
Call Number: (RH) Ref DE5 .L6
Zurich: Artemis Verlag, 1965.
Capita Provinciarum by Rudolf Haensch
Call Number: (RH) Oversize Stacks +DG59.A2 H34
Mainz am Rhein: P.von Zabern, 1997.