Research Guides @ Fordham: Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS): Finding Data & Statistics

Selected Books

Census.gov Glossary
Provides definitions of terms used by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Resource Center from Data 2X
Collection of articles, reports, and a glossary with definitions for frequently used terms from a variety of sources including the UN, the OECD, and The World Bank.

Sustainable Development Goals (SDG)
Offers background information on SDGs from the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development via UN DESA.

SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
Explore research methods and concepts to help design research projects. Can be used across many disciplines. Use Chrome or Firefox for Best Results.

COVID-19 and Gender Monitor
Data and reports from UN Women.
Sex, Gender and COVID-19 Project
A partnership of Global Health 50/50, the African Population and Health Research Center (APHRC) and the International Center for Research on Women (ICRW) to provide the world’s largest database of sex-disaggregated data on COVID-19.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
World's largest archive of digital social science data. Must be on campus when setting up account for public-use data. If you need access to restricted-use data, contact Fordham's IRB.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

U.S. Census Bureau Data
See the Census tab from the Demographic Data & Population Studies guide.

U.S. Department of Labor -- Women's Bureau
Data and statistics documenting women in the workforce since 1920.

National Center for Health Statistics -- Women's Health
FastStats from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

See the Gender-Based Violence tab for statistics and reports covering violence against women / gender-based violence.

Reproductive Health Data & Statistics
Collected by the Division of Reproductive Health at the Centers for Disease Control (CDC).
Data Center from the Guttmacher Institute
Create, download, and share custom tables, graphs and maps with key data on sexual and reproductive health indicators from the Guttmacher Institute and other trusted sources.
Abortion in the United States Dashboard
Statistics & data visualizations provided by the Kaiser Family Foundation.
Abortion -- Pew Research Center
Offers statistics and reports on the topic of abortion through public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science methods.

United Nations Resources

UN Women Data Hub
Provides interactive data dashboards, news, research publications, initiatives, fact sheets, and more.
Global Database on Violence against Women
Provides comprehensive and up-to-date information on measures undertaken by UN member states to address all forms of violence against women.
The World's Women 2020 - Trends and Statistics
An interactive collection of data and stories from the UN Department of Social and Economic Affairs (UN DESA). Taking COVID-19 into account, it presents the latest assessments of progress towards gender equality in six critical areas: population and families; health; education; economic empowerment and asset ownership; power and decision-making; and violence against women and the girl child.
World Health Organization
Search by topic for data and fact sheets on gender and sexuality.
Gender Inequality Index (GII)
Part of the Human Development Index from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Provides data measuring inequality in achievements between women and men in three dimensions: reproductive health, empowerment and the labor market.
Gender Social Norms Index (GSNI)
Part of the Human Development Index from the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP). Measures how social beliefs obstruct gender equality in areas like politics, work, and education.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development Resources

OECD Gender Data Portal
Offers selected indicators shedding light on gender inequalities in education, employment, entrepreneurship, health, development and governance covering OECD member countries, as well as partner economies including Brazil, China, India, Indonesia, and South Africa.
Social Institutions and Gender Index (SIGI)
From OECD's Development Centre measuring discrimination against women in social institutions across 180 countries.

The World Bank

Gender Data Portal from The World Bank
Offers the latest sex-disaggregated data and gender statistics covering agency, demography, education, health, access to economic opportunities, public life, and decision-making.