Research Guides @ Fordham: Demographic Data &amp; Statistics: U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau Data

U.S. Census Bureau This link opens in a new window
Official site for data published by the U.S. Census Bureau. Contains content previously available from American FactFinder including population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. Try Data Gems for quick video tutorials about how to search the platform for specific types of data.

QuickFacts - U.S. Census Bureau
Generates quick statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau covering the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States from ProQuest. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

Historical Census Records

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history published by Cambridge University Press with permission from the U.S. Census Bureau.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Provides directions for accessing historical census records (1790-1940) online through NARA and other sources. Includes links to blank census forms, reports, and more.
New York Public Library
Contact the Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy at New York Public Library to access Ancestry.com, Find My Past, and other genealogical resources.
Ancestry.com New York
Follow the directions from the New York State Archives to sign up for a free Ancestry.com New York account to search New York records. Does not included all Ancestry.com content.

Census Academy

Census Academy
Contains short videos, webinars, courses, handouts, and data visualization tips to help users understand how to use census data.

Census Reports and Summaries

Reports and summaries with statistical data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau can be found in a variety of ways at the library. Try the following options:

Fordham University Libraries Catalog
Print items can be found throughout the library in Reference, the Stacks, and the Government Documents Collection. The catalog also contains electronic and microfilm resources.
Census.gov
Reports and summaries can be found through searching by topic or searching by specific survey or program.
MetaLib
Offers a federated search of multiple U.S. federal government databases containing reports, articles, and citations along with direct links to selected resources available online.

Additional Research Guides

Government Documents Research Guide
Learn more about Government Documents collection and the Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP).
New York - Researching
Contains resources from the City of New York that organize and visualize census data on a local level.

1950 Census

Official 1950 Census Website
Offers open access searching of the 1950 Census as well as opportunities to help transcribe names and use the full open dataset.

2020 Census Information

Census 2020 Hard-to-Count Communities Map
Developed by the CUNY Mapping Service at CUNY Graduate Center and the Center for Urban Research to highlight areas of the country that are hardest to count, this tool allows comparisons of 2010 response rates with 2020 rates.
NYC Census 2020 Campaign Final Report: The Next 10 Years - A Model for NYC's Future
Report from the NYC 2020 Census campaign.

Advanced Census Data Options

United States Census Bureau Data Repository
Preserves and disseminates survey instruments, specifications, data dictionaries, codebooks, and other materials provided by the U.S. Census Bureau. Hosted by ICPSR, this data repository contains additional Census-related data collections from its larger holdings.
IPUMS USA
Provides access to U.S. census microdata for decennial censuses from 1790-2010 and American Community Surveys from 2000-present. (IPUMS also provides access to international microdata and conducts additional surveys.)

Demographic Data & Statistics: U.S. Census Bureau

Introduction to the U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau Data

Historical Census Records

Census Academy

Census Reports and Summaries

Additional Research Guides

1950 Census

2020 Census Information

Advanced Census Data Options

Reference & Instruction Department