Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies (WGSS): Finding Books

► OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service) aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

► Understanding Limiters in OneSearch

• Limiters are the options on the left that allow users to limit their search by specific criteria.
• This box focuses on the options to limit to Full Text, Catalog Only, and Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

• Selecting Catalog Only shows print and electronic books plus journal titles by subscription (not articles).
  • Use the Library Catalog to search for the most recent books and journals acquired by Fordham Libraries. (There can be a delay between the catalog and OneSearch.)

• Checking Full Text limits to electronic books and articles Fordham owns or subscribes to that are available through EBSCO Discovery Service; it will suppress records for print items.

• Checking Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals will limit article results to electronic items from peer review journals only; it will suppress records from print and electronic books (even if those books went through peer review).

Beware: these limiters will not always work together and can cancel each other out:

• Catalog Only will not work if Full Text or Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals is checked.

• Full Text can be checked at the same time as Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

► Not having any luck with OneSearch? Look to the right side of your screen and select the option to continue your search in All ProQuest databases:

Sometimes, you only need a portion of a book or a single article. If you cannot get to the library to scan print content in our collection, you can request that we scan the content for you.

Find items outside of Fordham with WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch, a platform searching across the largest network of library collections around the world.

Need books or articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries? Use our Interlibrary Loan Service. ILLIAD is the name of our interlibrary loan platform.

The list below contains suggestions to search for books using Library of Congress Subject Headings:

African American women.

Body image in women.

Feminism--United States.

Feminism and literature.

Feminist literary criticism.

Feminist theology.

Feminist theory.

Gay and lesbian studies.

Gender identity.

Gender identity in literature.

Homophobia--United States--History.

Homosexuality and literature.

Human reproduction--Law and legislation--United States.

Intimate partner violence.

Lesbians--United States--Biography.

Masculinity.

Men's studies.

Motherhood--United States.

Misogyny.

Queer theory.

Reproductive rights--United States.

Reproductive health--United States.

Sex discrimination--United States.

Sex in literature.

Sex in popular culture.

Sex role.

Sex role in the work environment--United States.

Sex--Social aspects.

Sexism.

Sexual orientation--United States.

Transgender people.

Transgenderism.

Women and literature.

Women in development.

Women--Economic conditions.

Women--Health and hygiene.

Women--Identity.

Women--Language.

Women--Political activity--United States.

Women--Social conditions.

Women--United States.

Women's studies.

Women's rights--United States.

Women--Violence against.

*This list is not definitive. Be sure to search the catalog for other options.

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a real, human librarian to get help.