Research Guides @ Fordham: Social Services: Finding Books

Dorothy Day, 1897-1980

Source: Commons.Wikimedia.org

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Placing a Hold on a Fordham Book

You may place a book on hold to have it delivered to another Fordham campus.

Electronic Books & Journals

E-books in Sociology and Social Policy

Elgar Ebooks Online This link opens in a new window
To the left on the opening page click on "Sociology and Social Policy" for related e-titles.
EBSCOhost eBooks (Including Academic Collection) This link opens in a new window
A mix of UNLIMITED and LIMITED simultaneous books representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Includes over 2,500 Open Access books.
MUST CLICK ON BOOK TITLE AND SCROLL DOWN TO SEE CONCURRENT USER LEVEL. Limited functionality on mobile devices. Try a different browser if you encounter problems using Chrome.
Chapter downloads and printing are limited by publisher. To print or save beyond the max number of pages, open a new browser or browser window to start a new session and reopen the book, as this will reset the page count. NOTE: PREVIOUS SESSION MUST BE CLOSED FOR 1SU and 3SU BOOKS
ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS is required to download and view some titles. See link below for setup instructions.
When downloading an eBook using the Chrome browser, the download will not automatically open but appears in the download bar at the bottom of the browser. Click the download in the bar and select Open to open the eBook or select Always open files of this type to automatically open future EBSCO eBooks downloads in ADE.

HOW DO I INSTALL AND AUTHORIZE ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS?
Note: If the book was already downloaded to your computer prior to authorizing ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS, the book will need to be deleted and then downloaded again.
Gale Ebooks Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes 100+ e-books from hundreds of international researchers. Titles include multidisciplinary DEI research that span across 11 major subject areas, including business, education, computer science, government, and social sciences.
Gale Ebooks Mental Health and Wellness Collection This link opens in a new window
Fifteen ebooks span diverse topics, including suicide, panic disorders, LGBT psychology, socializing, deconstructing stigmas, the influence of race and culture, and more. Offers students help, guidance, and resources during their most vulnerable moments. Reference anytime, anywhere, and on any device. International and ESL students will benefit from translation in nearly 40 languages.
Students can save and download audio files onto their mobile device with Readspeaker text-to-speech technology. To download, click into one of the chapters and use icons located at the top right.
Gale Ebooks Race and Social Injustice Collection This link opens in a new window
A collection of twenty-niine eBooks to encourage learning and research in systemic racism, social injustice, and anti-racism. Encompasses subject areas in race and ethnic relations, anthropology, politics, journalism, ethnic and women’s studies, Black studies and policing.
Students can save and download audio files onto their mobile device with Readspeaker text-to-speech technology. To download, click into one of the chapters and use icons located at the top right.

Accessing E-books

Library Catalog
Start here when looking for e-books

Locate the e-book in your results; the notation will say [electronic resource] within or at the end of the title.
Click on the small, blue letters URL or the actual url to open the e-book in the Item Information section of the record.
Log off as soon as you are finished; many e-books accommodate only one user at a time.

Google Books

Google Books contains over 15 million scanned books. Books can be viewed in 1 of 4 ways depending on their status: full text pdf for books out of copyright or with publisher's permission; limited preview of pages (sometimes quite extensive); snippet (a few sentences that include your search terms); or no preview. Bibliographic information is provided for each book including links to reviews, author info, web references, and related books.

Use Advanced Search for best results. Try it!

Some pertinent Library of Congress Subject Headings

AIDS (Disease) Social aspects

Bereavement

Evidence-based social work

Family social work

Homelessness

Public welfare United States

Social service

Social service--Moral and ethical aspects

Social service Research

Social service--Vocational guidance

Social work administration

Social work education

Social work with children

Social work with juvenile delinquents

Social work with older people

Substance abuse--treatment

Veterans mental health services

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Suggest a Library Acquisition

If there's a title in your field of research or pedagogy which the Library does not currently own, you may place an order for it here, through:

Order a Book

If a requested title is available either in print or electronically, there's a good chance we can get it--and we'll notify you when it's here.

Social Services: Finding Books