Research Guides @ Fordham: Social Services: Finding Journal Articles & Data

Some premium Library databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Combines the Women's Studies International Index and Men's Studies Index and contains almost 1 million records dating from the 1970's up to the present. Index with some full text.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
Routledge Historical Resources: The History of Feminism This link opens in a new window
Covers the subject of feminism over the long nineteenth century (1776–1928). Contains an extensive range of primary and secondary resources, including full books, selected chapters, and journal articles, as well as new thematic essays, and subject introductions on its structural themes.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.

Specific Electronic Journal

If you have a particular journal title in mind and wish to see whether Fordham libraries subscribes to it as an e-journal, key in that title ("Research on aging" e.g.) and holdings of the title will appear if we're a subscriber.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar indexes the full text of a wide array of scholarly literature across many disciplines. Use Advanced Search for more refined results.

Mary Carpenter, 1807-1877

Pioneer social reformer, statistician, advocate of Christian love for troubled youth

Additional Useful Databases

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
World's largest archive of digital social science data. Logging into or creating an ICPSR account, also called a Researcher Passport, allows you to download data, upload data, or view account stats. To make an account, click the Log In Button (upper right), select "Sign in with your email" and you will see "Sign in to your account". Under the button, select “set up a new account.” Do NOT use the Institutional Access. Use your Fordham email. If you need access to restricted-use data, Accessing Restricted Data at ICPSR.
If you previously had a MyData account, follow the instructions for "Did you previously have a MyData account?"
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
A tool designed to help you make use of proven methods to create research projects in the social sciences. A taxonomy of over 1,400 methods is featured.
Sociometrics Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences Library (Formerly SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Over 400 data sets on wellness drivers including sexual and reproductive health, HIV-awareness, mental hygiene, intimate partner violence, and substance abuse. Can be downloaded for SAS, SPSS, and STATA. Access only to DATA. Do Not use Internet Explorer.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.