Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Psychology & Psychiatry Databases
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Includes the Annual Review of Clinical Psychology and the Annual Review of Psychology
Credo Reference - Psychology This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries of psychology.
Educational Testing Service This link opens in a new window
Information about educational tests and research by ETS.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Critical evaluations of over 2,000 commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, and intelligence.
PEP-WEB This link opens in a new window
Psychoanalytic Electronic Publishing contains the full text of 18 journals in psychoanalysis plus writings of well-known psychoanalysts
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from selected APA journals and EPF journals, most from 1988 to the present.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Publications of the American Psychiatric Publishing including DSM-V, journals and books.
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Provides abstracts and indexing of key psychology journals. Users get access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements essential to psychological research.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Index to serial and book literature in psychology with abstracts since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering literature on traumatic stress sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health traumatic events.
Not finding the database you want? Here is a full list of our databases in this subject area:
APA PsycInfo Training Materials
APA Databases Training
Use this link to find downloadable guides for searching APA PsycInfo. Online instruction session taught by APA are also listed.
APA Quick Reference Guide - Searching PsycInfo via EBSCO
Fordham provides access to the database APA PsycInfo via the EBSCOhost platform. For a basic introduction to searching PsycInfo check out this Quick Reference Guide published by APA. (For more detailed or topic specific support consult the Fordham Library Liaisons for Psychology.)
Need Materials from Outside Fordham?
Cannot find items you need for your research?
Search Tips and Training
Tips for Searching PsycINFO
- Use the Advanced Search
- Check the Thesaurus for recommended search terms, word definitions, and historical usage of a search term
- Enter each separate word in a different box (theories, concepts, and diagnostic disorders as defined by the DSM-5 are great search terms)
- Select the Boolean/Phrase radio button, and use AND, OR, NOT to search multiple words or concepts
- Use an asterisk * at the end of a word to get variant endings: child* yields child and children and childhood
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase (adjacent words that must be searched in exact order): "obsessive compulsive disorder"
- Consider limiting by Source Type: Scholarly Journals or Books or Dissertations
- Consider using dates, age, gender, methodologies, populations, tests & measures, language as limits
- The full bibliographic record will indicate if the article is peer reviewed, it will also provide the publication history
Boolean Modifier Video
Video tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers" from McMaster Libraries
Boolean Operators Video
Video Tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators" from McMaster Libraries
Database Search Tips
Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries covers Boolean search operators, truncation, keyword vs. subjects, fields, phrases and stop words.
Fordham Library Tutorial
Specific to the Fordham Library, this tutorial covers both catalog and database searching, evaluating library resources, and an overview of selected library services.
Fake News Research Guide
Learn to critically evaluate the news you read.
Here are some recommended multidisciplinary databases that may be helpful:
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS - ENDS 6/30/23) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. All Open Content, Collections, and Reports are available to Fordham users. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Informe Académico (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)