Skip to Main Content

Psychology: Reference Sources

Highlights of the Fordham library resources on psychology.

Welcome

Welcome to the Psychology Guide. Here you will find links to reference books, websites, databases, writing tools and tests that are commonly used in psychological research. Please let the librarians listed in this guide know if you have any questions or suggestions.

Clinical & Diagnostic Manuals

DSM Library from PsychiatryOnline
The DSM Library from the PsychiatryOnline database includes links to the most recent edition of:
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR)
- Supplements
- Clinical Cases
- Handbook of Differential Diagnosis
- Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview
- and more

The Psychiatric Interview, 4th ed. by Daniel Carlat
Call Number: (LC) Stacks RC480.7 .C315 2017

Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer, [2017]

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Credo Reference - Academic Core
Select the "Advanced Search" option. Then, "Narrow by Subject" Psychology.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Select "Advanced Search" option. Then, "Show Results From" Psychology.

The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, 4th edition by Jacqueline L. Longe
Farmington Hills, Mich.: Gale, [2022]
A Student's Dictionary of Psychology and Neuroscience, 6th ed. by Nicky Hayes; Peter Stratton
Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge, an imprint of the Taylor & Francis Group, 2017.
APA Dictionary of Statistics and Research Methods by Sheldon Zedeck (Editor)
Call Number: RH Ref BF76.5 .A7263 2014

Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2014].
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology by Irving B. Weiner; W. Edward Craighead
Call Number: (RH, W) Ref +BF31.E52 2010

New York, NY: Wiley, 2010.
4 volumes

Citation and Inclusive Language

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association : The Official Guide to APA Style. by American Psychological Association
Call Number: Ref Desk BF76.7.P83 2020 (LC, RH, W)

Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2020]

APA Style from the American Psychological Association
APA Style from OWL - The Online Writing Lab at Purdue
APA Inclusive Language Guide
American Psychological Association. (2023). Inclusive language guide (2nd ed.).
Website and PDF format available

National Institute of Mental Health

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) is the lead federal agency for research on mental disorders.

National Institute of Mental Health - Home
Includes: mental health topics, statistics, fact sheets, clinical trials, news, and recommendations on where to go to for help.
National Institute of Mental Health - Topic Finder
Organized by: Health Topics, Populations, and Research.

Recent Handbooks From APA

APA Handbook of Adolescent and Young Adult Development by Lisa J. Crockett (Editor); Gustavo Carlo (Editor); John E. Schulenberg (Editor)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2023]
APA Handbook of Health Psychology by Neil Schneiderman
Call Number: ebook

ISBN: 9781433841750

Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2025
APA Handbook of Neuropsychology by Gregory G. Brown; Bruce Crosson; Kathleen Y. Haaland; Tricia Z. King; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association, [2023]
APA Handbook of Psychotherapy by Frederick T. L. Leong; Michael J. Constantino; Jeffrey Zimmerman; Jennifer L. Callahan; Catherine F. Eubanks
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2024]
APA Handbook of the Psychology of Women by Cheryl B. Travis (Editor); Jacquelyn W. White (Editor); Alexandra Rutherford (Editor); Wendi S. Williams (Editor); Sarah L. Cook (Editor); Karen Fraser Wyche (Editor)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2018]

Writing and Research Guides

APA Handbook of Research Methods in Psychology by Harris M. Cooper; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2023-]
The Complete Researcher: A Practical Guide for Graduate Students and Early Career Professionals by Joshua N. Hook; Don Davis; Daryl R. Van Tongeren
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, [2024]
Writing Literature Reviews: A Guide for Students of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by Jose L. Galvan
Call Number: (LC, RH, W) H61.8.G3 2013 Stacks

Glendale, CA: Pyrczak, 2013.
5th edition

Head of Reference & Information Services

she/her

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 128

jsuda@fordham.edu

718-817-3587

Subjects: Business, Classics, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Language & Literature, Law, Library & Information Science, Medicine & Health, Psychology & Psychiatry, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies

Science & Technology Librarian

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library
Room 139

gphillips16@fordham.edu

718-817-4470

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science & Information Technologies, Library & Information Science, Medicine & Health, Psychology & Psychiatry, Science & Technology (General)

Psychology Liaison

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus
Walsh Family Library, Room 127
jhoag@fordham.edu

718-817-3555

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, & Sociology, Art & Architecture, Business, Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, History (American), History (World), Language & Literature, Library & Information Science, Medicine & Health, Psychology & Psychiatry, Religion & Theology, Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)