Research Guides @ Fordham: Psychology: Books &amp; E-Books

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Finding Psychology E-books

Go to the Library Catalog

To find e-books only, type your search terms as above.
Use the Library limit option, and choose "Online Resources" from the drop-down menu.
Note: You will need to log in to open an e-book if you are off campus.

Opening and Reading an E-book

Library Catalog
Start here when looking for e-books

Locate the e-book in your results; the notation will say [electronic resource] within or at the end of the title.
Click on the small, blue letters URL or the actual url to open the e-book in the Item Information section of the record.
Log off as soon as you are finished; many e-books accommodate only one user at a time.

Best E-book Collections For Psychology

PsycBOOKS (APA) This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and professional books and chapters published by APA and other publishers. Includes Encyclopedia of Psychology and all volumes of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series. On EBSCOhost platform. All PsycBooks have UNLIMITED user access.
Gale Ebooks Mental Health and Wellness Collection This link opens in a new window
Fifteen ebooks span diverse topics, including suicide, panic disorders, LGBT psychology, socializing, deconstructing stigmas, the influence of race and culture, and more. Offers students help, guidance, and resources during their most vulnerable moments. Reference anytime, anywhere, and on any device. International and ESL students will benefit from translation in nearly 40 languages.
Students can save and download audio files onto their mobile device with Readspeaker text-to-speech technology. To download, click into one of the chapters and use icons located at the top right.
Credo Reference - Psychology This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries of psychology.
Credo Reference - Medicine and Health This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias and dictionaries of medicine and health.
EBSCOhost eBooks (Including Academic Collection) This link opens in a new window
A mix of UNLIMITED and LIMITED simultaneous books representing a broad range of academic subject matter.
MUST CLICK ON BOOK TITLE AND SCROLL DOWN TO SEE CONCURRENT USER LEVEL. Limited functionality on mobile devices.
Chapter downloads and printing are limited by publisher.
ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS is required to download and view some titles. See link below for setup instructions. . Includes over 2,500 Open Access books.
HOW DO I INSTALL AND AUTHORIZE ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS?
Note: If the book was already downloaded to your computer prior to authorizing ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS, the book will need to be deleted and then downloaded again.
Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest's Ebook platform with over 23,000 titles covering many subject areas. Note each book's simultaneous user limit under Author and Availabilty. MUST log in first for full functionality

Document Delivery

If you only need a few pages, a chapter, or an article from an item that we have in our print collection, our Document Delivery service may be the perfect solution.

Document Delivery Service Guidelines
Find out about the Fordham Libraries Document Delivery Service to see if it is a good choice for you.
Document Delivery Request Form
Use this form to submit a Document Delivery request (please read guidelines prior to submission).

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Psychology: Books & E-Books