Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Internet Sites - American Politics
American National Election Studies
Offers statistical data on voting, public opinion and political participation in US elections from 1952 to the present.
Brief summaries of information about countries, from the U.S. State Department.
Brennan Center for Justice
This site provides information on civil, racial and criminal justice.
Brookings Institute Policy Series
Well known think tank offers in-depth studies on a variety of social, economic and political issues.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
From the US Dept. of Justice. Recommended as a source of statistics on crime and criminal justice.
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Excellent resource from a non-profit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation between nations and international engagement by the U.S.
Center for Voting and Democracy
This site advocates a proportional representation electoral system for the U.S.
The beta version of the site contains legislation from the 107th Congress (2001) to the present, member profiles from the 93rd Congress (1973) to the present, and some member profiles from the 80th through the 92nd Congresses (1947 to 1972).
Congressional Budget Office
Source for U.S. budgetary information.
The Constitution Project brings together policy experts and legal practitioners from across the political spectrum to foster consensus-based solutions to the most difficult constitutional challenges of our time.
Council of State Government
Founded in 1933, The Council of State Governments is our nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy.
Factcheck.org: Annenberg political fact check
A non-partisan site that analyzes the accuracy of major political speeches, debates and ads since December, 2003.
Federal Election Commission
Provides information on campaign finance law and how to track "hard" money in U.S. elections.
Findlaw: Internet legal resources
"The best place to begin legal research on the web".
First Amendment Center
A useful website about First Amendment rights.
Follow the Money: National Institute on Money in State Politics
"The nation's most complete resource for information on money in state politics."
Foreign Policy Association
The web site of one of the nation's leading non-profit, non-partisan organizations. Includes keyword searchable resource library. Recommended for all levels of students.
National Archives and Records Administration
NARA is an independent federal agency set up to preserve documents relevant to U.S. history and to manage all federal records. Includes a searchable database.
National Priorities Project: Federal Budget Impacts
A useful site that compiles statistics from government sources to examine the trade offs between military and social spending.
Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
From the University of Texas at Austin, this site has been deservedly described as "a wonderful map resource for researchers and historians".
Gives the results of current polls by US public survey organizations such as NRR, Fox News, Harris and Gallup.
State Agency Databases
An American Library Association voluntary project that is a wiki of state databases.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information.
Includes information on the president and vice-president, federal benefits, education programs, science and technology programs, business, and on obtaining government documents.
Internet Sites - International Politics