Political Science: Finding Books

Recommended strategies for searching the catalog.

Politics and Government

Some Library of Congress classifications for Political Science:

J - General Legislative Papers

JA - Political Science

JC - Political Theory

JZ - International Relations

Searching by subject means you must use the correct subject heading assigned to the book. If you aren't sure of the subject heading, do a keyword search instead and you will find the right subject headings in the catalog record of each book. Use advanced search to limit your search to certain time periods or types of materials. 

Subject Headings for Presidential Elections

Presidents -  [subdivide geographically] - Election - [subdivide by date]

Example: Presidents - United States - Election - 2016

Subject Headings for some issues related to elections and voting

Women presidential candidates - United States

Election forecasting - United States

Campaign funds - United States - Law and Legislation

Primaries - United States - Law and Legislation

► OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service) aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

► Understanding Limiters in OneSearch

• Limiters are the options on the left that allow users to limit their search by specific criteria.
• This box focuses on the options to limit to Full Text, Catalog Only, and Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

• Selecting Catalog Only shows print and electronic books plus journal titles by subscription (not articles).
  • Use the Library Catalog to search for the most recent books and journals acquired by Fordham Libraries. (There can be a delay between the catalog and OneSearch.)

• Checking Full Text limits to electronic books and articles Fordham owns or subscribes to that are available through EBSCO Discovery Service; it will suppress records for print items.

• Checking Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals will limit article results to electronic items from peer review journals only; it will suppress records from print and electronic books (even if those books went through peer review).

Beware: these limiters will not always work together and can cancel each other out:

• Catalog Only will not work if Full Text or Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals is checked.

• Full Text can be checked at the same time as Academic (Peer-Reviewed) Journals.

► Not having any luck with OneSearch? Look to the right side of your screen and select the option to continue your search in All ProQuest databases: