Research Guides @ Fordham: Online MSW Program Library Research Guide: Finding E-books

Ebook Collections

Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
EBSCOhost eBooks (Including Academic Collection) This link opens in a new window
A mix of UNLIMITED and LIMITED simultaneous books representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Includes over 2,500 Open Access books.
MUST CLICK ON BOOK TITLE AND SCROLL DOWN TO SEE CONCURRENT USER LEVEL. Limited functionality on mobile devices. Try a different browser if you encounter problems using Chrome.
Chapter downloads and printing are limited by publisher. To print or save beyond the max number of pages, open a new browser or browser window to start a new session and reopen the book, as this will reset the page count. NOTE: PREVIOUS SESSION MUST BE CLOSED FOR 1SU and 3SU BOOKS
ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS is required to download and view some titles. See link below for setup instructions.
HOW DO I INSTALL AND AUTHORIZE ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS?
Note: If the book was already downloaded to your computer prior to authorizing ADOBE DIGITAL EDITIONS, the book will need to be deleted and then downloaded again.
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Online access to encyclopedias, reference works, and other ebooks covering a wide range of topics. Includes Scribners Writers and Twaynes Authors titles.
PsycBOOKS (APA) This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly and professional books and chapters published by APA and other publishers. Includes Encyclopedia of Psychology and all volumes of the APA Handbooks in Psychology Series. On EBSCOhost platform. All PsycBooks have UNLIMITED user access.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive comprising public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Not completely Open Access. Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.
Oxford Reference Premium This link opens in a new window
Over 300 dictionaries, encyclopedias and subject reference books published by Oxford University Press. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Accessing an E-book

Library Catalog
Start here when looking for e-books

Locate the e-book in your results; the notation will say [electronic resource] within or at the end of the title.
Click on the small, blue letters URL or the actual url to open the e-book in the Item Information section of the record.
Log off as soon as you are finished; many e-books accommodate only one user at a time.

To Find Ebooks Specifically in the Fordham Library Catalog

From www.fordham.edu/library

To include E-books only, type your search terms above; choose "Online Resources" from the drop-down menu next to the word "library" located underneath the red "Search" button.

Note: You may have to login with your My.Fordham.edu credentials if you are off campus.

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.