Research Guides @ Fordham: Online MSW Program Library Research Guide: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

ERIC (EBSCO Platform) This link opens in a new window
Index to both journal literature and unpublished documents since 1966 on education-related topics. Includes links to full text. HOSTED BY EBSCO.
EBSCOhost Databases List This link opens in a new window
Collection of full text and bibliographic databases covering every area of academic study. Mobile users will be automatically recognized.
PsycARTICLES (APA) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full text articles from journals published by the APA. On EBSCOhost platform.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and Indexing to serial and book literature in psychology since 1840. On EBSCOhost platform.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
SocIndex with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive index to the literature on sociology including journals, books, and conference papers.
Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Offers extensive coverage of hundreds of social work and human services journals dating back to 1965. Produced by the National Association of Social Workers, the database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field, including theory and practice, areas of service and social issues and problems.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Other Databases of Merit for Social Work Research

ChildInfo This link opens in a new window
UNICEF website providing statistics and data on the situation of children and women throughout the world. Some data is downloadable to MS Excel.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Largest collection of education journals. Provides indexing & abstracting to over 1500 journals, and full text to over 750. Includes full text of numerous books and conference papers.
Education Week This link opens in a new window
A national newspaper focusing on K-12 education policy and practice. A forum for news, information, advice and opinion for teachers, as well as discourse on critical issues in American education.
Ignore blue "Subscribe" button when accessing remotely.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic.
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences (2nd Edition) This link opens in a new window
2nd edition of the 26-volume online encyclopedia.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.
Jesuit Studies Portal by Boston College This link opens in a new window
The Portal grants online access to a curated and searchable collection of primary sources and secondary scholarship related to the history, spirituality, educational heritage, and pedagogy approach of the Society of Jesus.
Included databases are: Essential Documents, International Symposia on Jesuit Studies, Jesuit Historiography Online, Jesuit Online Bibliography, Jesuit Online Library, Jesuit Sources, Jesuitica Directory, Studies in the Spirituality of Jesuits, and Journal of Jesuit Studies.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Critical evaluations of commercially available tests in education, psychology, business, and intelligence.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this resource directs researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects. Bibliographies in 16 subjects: African Studies, Art History, Biblical Studies, Buddhism, Cinema & Media Studies, Classics, Communication, Islamic Studies, Latin American Studies, Literary & Critical Theory, Medieval Studies, Philosophy, Psychology, Renaissance & Reformation, Social Work and Sociology. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Population Reference Bureau This link opens in a new window
Reports from all over the world on population trends, health, and the environment.
PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new window
Publications of the American Psychiatric Publishing including DSM-V, journals and books.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Sociometrics Social, Behavioral, and Health Sciences Library (Formerly SSEDL) This link opens in a new window
Over 400 data sets on wellness drivers including sexual and reproductive health, HIV-awareness, mental hygiene, intimate partner violence, and substance abuse. Can be downloaded for SAS, SPSS, and STATA. Access only to DATA. Do Not use Internet Explorer.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive collection and summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. Data is downloadable to MS Excel.

E-Journals Collections

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences. No access to Economics and Computer Science titles.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of subscribed journals and four collections - Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Econometrics, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
SAGE Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 journals.
Springer ALL Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 2,300 journals. Typical access is 1996/1997 to Present. Always click on the journal Volume/Issue to see content availability.
Wiley Online Library - All Journals Database 2023 This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all Wiley Journals - 2023 Collection. Typical access is 1996/1997 to Present. Always click on the journal title to see specific years of access, even if there is no access icon visible on the front page.

Get Articles & Studies

For clinical literature, see Databases/Articles at the top of the guide to find these articles.

Hint:

To find studies, paste this string of terms into an additional search bar in the database you are using:

study OR research OR methodology OR subjects OR data OR results OR findings OR discussion OR conclusion

Open Access Journals

Berghahn Open Anthro S2O This link opens in a new window
Content for 16 journals is OA beginning 2020 or later. Continued access is not guaranteed.
BioMed Central BMC This link opens in a new window
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Brill Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Growing list of Open Access journals from Brill.
Cambridge University Press: Open This link opens in a new window
Open Ejournals and Ebooks in a variety of subject areas.
CLOCKSS Triggered Content This link opens in a new window
CLOCKSS is a not-for-profit joint venture between the world’s leading academic publishers and research libraries whose mission is to build a sustainable, geographically distributed dark archive with which to ensure the long-term survival of Web-based scholarly publications. Content no longer available from any publisher ("triggered content") is available for free with a Creative Commons license.
DeGruyter Open This link opens in a new window
Leading publisher of open access scientific content with nearly 400 scholarly journals across all major disciplines.
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals covering all topics.
NOTE: Some content may not be freely available.
Firenze University Press: Open Access Ejournals This link opens in a new window
Fifty Open Access journals covering a wide range of subjects.
Hindawi Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over one hundred peer-reviewed, Open Access journals across many areas of science, technology, and medicine, as well as several areas of social science.
IEEE Open This link opens in a new window
Fully open access journals from IEEE spanning a wide range of technologies.
IOPscience OA Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 30 key online journals fully Open Access.
Karger Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Searchable gateway of open access journals for every biomedical discipline.
Making of America, journals and monographs (Cornell University) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Making of America, journals and monographs (University of Michigan) This link opens in a new window
Digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
OpenDOAR - The Directory of Open Access Repositories This link opens in a new window
Authoritative directory of academic open access repositories that lists repositories and allows breakdown and selection by a variety of criteria.
Project Euclid Open Access This link opens in a new window
Complete holdings of selected math and statistics journals from a variety of publishers hosted by Project Euclid.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new window
A selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies. Compiled from thousands of periodicals and collections of articles in many languages mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library.
Royal Society Open Science This link opens in a new window
Open journal with high-quality peer-reviewed original research. Covers the entire range of science and mathematics. See new section called "Science, Society, and Policy" for published work that sits at the interface of Science, Society, and Policy.
Sage Gold Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
All articles published in the journals provide worldwide, barrier-free access to the full-text of articles online, immediately on publication under a creative commons license.
ScienceDirect Open Access This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform.
Scientific Reports This link opens in a new window
An OA peer-reviewed journal from Nature.com publishing original research from across all areas of the natural sciences, psychology, medicine and engineering.
SpringerOpen Journals This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free peer-reviewed journals from Springer, across all areas of science.
Taylor & Francis Open Access This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis and Routledge currently publish a number of pure open access journals. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication.
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles.Chrome browser recommended.
University of California Press - Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Collabra is University of California Press's open access journal program. The Collabra program currently publishes Collabra: Psychology and Elementa: Science of the Anthropocene, with plans for continued expansion and journal acquistion.
Wiley-Blackwell Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
Wiley's fully open access journals are immediately freely available to read, download and share. The fully open access journals are published in collaboration with authoritative journals.
To access content, choose "Journal Information" under the relevant title.

Online MSW Program Library Research Guide: Databases/Articles

Best Bet Databases

Other Databases of Merit for Social Work Research

Individual Journals

E-Journals Collections

Get Articles & Studies

Open Access Journals

Reference & Instruction Department