FITV 3648 Course Page - FITV 3648 - Television, Race, and Civil Rights (Prof. Monk-Payton) - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Books

For additional titles, search the Catalog subjects:

"African Americans on television."
"Race relations on television."
"Racism on television."

Please note some titles may be limited to a single simultaneous user. As well, some titles may have limits on the number of pages that may be printed, emailed, or saved. Often, database specific log in is required to download ebooks.

African Americans on Television : Race-ing for Ratings by David J. Leonard (Editor); Lisa Guerrero (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : Praeger, [2013].
Black, White, and in Color : Television and Black Civil Rights by Sasha Torres
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks PN1992.8.A34 T67 2003
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, 2003.
The Colorblind Screen : Television in Post-racial America by Sarah E. Turner; Sarah Nilsen (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PN1992.8.M54 C86 2014
New York ; London : New York University Press, [2014].
Colored Television : American Religion Gone Global by Marla Frederick
Stanford, California : Stanford University Press, [2016].
Equal Time : Television and the Civil Rights Movement by Aniko Bodroghkozy
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks PN1992.6 .B58 2012
Urbana : University of Illinois Press, [2012].
The Evolution of Black Women in Television : Mammies, Matriarchs and Mistresses by Imani M. Cheers
New York, NY : Routledge, 2018.
Making Roots : A Nation Captivated by Matthew F. Delmont
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185.97.H24 D45 2016
Oakland, California : University of California Press, [2016].
Real Sister : Stereotypes, Respectability, and Black Women in Reality TV by Jervette R. Ward (Editor, Contribution by)
New Brunswick, New Jersey : Rutgers University Press, [2015]
Reconsidering Roots : Race, Politics, and Memory by Erica L. Ball (Contribution by, Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Stacks PN1992.77.R5575 R43 2017
Athens : The University of Georgia Press, [2017].
True South : Henry Hampton and Eyes on the Prize, the Landmark Television Series that Reframed the Civil Rights Movement by Jon Else
Call Number: (RH) Stacks E185.61 .E525 2017
New York, New York : Viking, [2017].
Watching While Black : Centering the Television of Black Audiences by Beretta E. Smith-Shomade (Editor)
New Brunswick, N.J. ; London : Rutgers University Press, [2012].

Contextual and Background Information

Race in American Television: Voices and Visions That Shaped a Nation [2 Volumes] by David J. Leonard (Editor); Stephanie Troutman Robbins (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : Greenwood. 2021.

Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.
Credo Reference - Academic Core This link opens in a new window
NEW PLATFORM! Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.

Search Tips and Training

Search Tips

Use the Advanced Search
Check to see if the database has a Thesaurus or Index, and consider using it
Enter each separate keyword concept in a different box
Select the Boolean/Phrase radio button
Use an asterisk * at the end of a word to get variant endings : child* yields child and children
Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, two adjacent words in the same order : "cookie monster"
Consider using the medium or industry as a subject, or look for a database designed specifically for research in that medium or industry (film, television, news)
Consider limiting by date, and using theories, concepts, technologies, geographies, demographics, and regulations as keywords
Consider Source Type: Advertisements, Trade Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals, Books

Boolean Modifier Video
Video tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers" from McMaster Libraries
Boolean Operators Video
Video Tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators" from McMaster Libraries
Database Search Tips
Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries covers Boolean search operators, truncation, keyword vs. subjects, fields, phrases and stop words.
Fordham Library Tutorial
Specific to the Fordham Library, this tutorial covers both catalog and database searching, evaluating library resources, and an overview of selected library services.
Access Help - Tech Problems
Use this link to find self-help tips for resolving common problems. This link will also provide information about known issues with our electronic resources, and will provide contact information for Fordham IT Customer Care, and our Fordham Libraries Electronic Resources librarians.

Historical News Databases & Document Archives

Black Life in America - 1704 to Today This link opens in a new window
TRIAL for dates 1704 to 1976 ends on 4/9/2022.
Extensive news coverage of the African American experience. Offers deep coverage from a variety of perspectives from over 12,000 local, regional, national, and international news sources. Search by full text/keyword, or by topic/ era/ issue collections created to highlight the African American experience.
Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 10 premier historical titles dating back to 1893. Day-to-day news coverage of leading issues and events throughout U.S. history as well as local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports. New content - Kansas City Call (Jan 18, 1924 - Oct 13, 1933 now available, some exceptions). More will be added throughout 2024.
Historical Newspapers: The Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text of the L.A. Times for 1881-1996.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.
Note: The digitized Index allows users to search on and view terms exactly as they appeared in the New York Times print index and newspaper articles.
Historical Newspapers: The Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text of The Wall Street Journal for 1889-2003.
Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Washington Post for 1877-2004.
New York State Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of newspapers published from U.S. prisons combined into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers Of A Civil Rights Activist/Political Activist/And Woman This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to voting rights activist and civil rights leader. Collection comprises more than three thousand pieces of correspondence plus financial records, programs, photographs, newspaper articles, invitations, and other printed items of Fannie Lou Hamer, field secretary for the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: Challenges and Triumphs in the Pursuit of Equality This link opens in a new window
Select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. Supports a wide range of students and researchers exploring the ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. and movements such as Black Lives Matter. Time period covered: 1790-present.

PROQUEST BLACK STUDIES (ENDS 4/23/22)

This is a TRIAL database and is only available until 4/23/2022. Primary and secondary sources, including historical Black newspapers, archival documents and collections, key government materials, videos, writings by major Black intellectuals and leaders, scholarly journals, and essays by top scholars. Includes timelines, topic pages on notable people, ten historical newspapers and over 120 archival collections and 160 full text periodicals. These collections will cover the period from the colonial era through to the 21st Century. Alongside the NAACP Papers are records of three civil rights organizations: Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), Southern Christian Leadership Conference (SCLC), and the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) and other records of importance.

Databases - Limited Historical Content

Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Index with full text of hundreds of journals and other sources.
Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines covering all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more. Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and other journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related field. Offers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals. Large amount of full text.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses providing researchers with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive index of full-text and bibliographic coverage of hundreds of publications on film and television with links to full text.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Also includes some primary source materials. The Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This link will take you to the DATABASES research guide and the full list of newspaper databases available via the Fordham Libraries.
Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new window
This resource combines the best features of annotated bibliography with discipline-specific encyclopedic articles. It is the perfect entry into the seminal literature on your chosen topic.
- The database includes multiple subjects, so use the Advanced Search option to limit your search. Citations are linked to full text when available.
Pop Culture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts to over 400 journals since 1983. Includes full text of many articles. Covers many subjects, including art, business, education and entertainment.
SAGE Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 journals.
US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspapers on the ProQuest platform. INCLUDES FORMER BLACK NEWSPAPERS.

Archives With Streaming Television

UCLA Film and Television Archive
A catalog of the largest university-based moving-image collection in the world, containing over 220,000 films and television programs. Note, only a fraction of the collection is available for digital streaming.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
A project of Vanderbilt University, this is the world's most extensive archive of television news. It contains over 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts & over 9,000 hours of special news-related programming. (Limited access)
more...less...
Due to copyright considerations, we provide access to the streaming video only to a limited audience and only to limited parts of our collection. Currently only individuals associated with subscribing colleges and universities can view streaming video. Visitors to the Archive in Nashville can view all content from our collection.

The Archive makes all the items in its collection available to the public through a loan service. We can create copies of material in our collection on DVD or VHS tape which are shipped to your address. To comply with the terms of the copyright law, these materials are considered a loan, and must be returned to us. The length of the loan period is flexible. We charge service fees to cover the cost of creating these custom-made DVDs or tapes.

Moving Image (Internet) Archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Open Vault This link opens in a new window
Access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, and searchable transcripts of our collective cultural heritage in moving images and sound.

The American Archive of Public Broadcasting.(AAPB)
The AAPB is a collaboration of The Library of Congress and GBH in Boston to preserve the most significant public television and radio programs of the past 60 years:
Archive of American Television
Created by the nonprofit Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation, this archive provides an oral history of television industry professionals who work in front of and behind the camera, chronicling television from its earliest days to the present.
Film/AV Collections of FIAF Affiliates Online
Links to free online streaming services around the world used by International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) affiliates to provide convenient access to their audiovisual collections.
Race Films: Getting Started
Guide featuring links and information about race films (created for Black audiences with all-Black casts) produced between the 1900s and 1960s from Mary Baldwin University.

Streaming Video

Black History Subject - AVON
The Black History subject from the database Academic Video Online (AVON). For more videos go to the Library Homepage, select the Databases Home option, and select the Videos & Multimedia page.
Black Studies Subject - AVON
The Black Studies subject from the database Academic Video Online (AVON). For more videos go to the Library Homepage, select the Databases Home option, and select the Videos & Multimedia page.
Kanopy Social and Systemic Injustice List
Fordham may not subscribe to the full list. Holding may change over time.
Video & Multimedia - Full Database List
This link will take you to the DATABASES research guide and the full list of video and multimedia options via the Fordham Libraries

Which Database for this Publication?

Search the Library Catalog to determine which database contains the full text of a publication, newspaper, journal, or other periodical.

Screenshot of a periodical title search in the library catalog.

Try searching with the Browse or Exact option (not Keyword):

Screenshot of a periodical record in the library catalog:

Screenshot of the list of databases that provide full text access to that periodical, including dates:

Other Helpful Research Guides

AJCU-Chat

Collaboratively staffed by

Fordham & AJCU Librarians.

Just click in to the bottom box

and start typing!

FITV 3648 - Television, Race, and Civil Rights (Prof. Monk-Payton): FITV 3648 Course Page

Welcome to the FITV 3648 Course Page