FITV 3648 - Television, Race, and Civil Rights (Prof. Monk-Payton): FITV 3648 Course Page

Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.

Millions of entries from notable subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts. Access to more than 1,000 videos and animations, and 500,000 contextual visual aids, images, photographs and maps.

Thirteen premier historical titles dating back to 1893. Day-to-day news coverage of leading issues and events throughout U.S. history as well as local and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports. New content-St. Louis American 1949-2010.

Full text of the L.A. Times for 1881-1996.

Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.
Note: The digitized Index allows users to search on and view terms exactly as they appeared in the New York Times print index and newspaper articles.

Full text of The Wall Street Journal for 1889-2003.

Full text of the Washington Post for 1877-2004.

The NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. Created and administered by the Northern New York Library Network in partnership with the Empire State Library Network.

Hundreds of newspapers published from U.S. prisons combined into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions. On the JSTOR platform.

Growing collection of primary source documents from Black, Latino, Native American and Asian American Pacific Islander communities during the 1950's and 1960's. On the JSTOR platform.

Academic journals and magazines covering all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more. Incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and other journals in communication, mass media, and closely-related field. Offers indexing and abstracts for hundreds of journals. Large amount of full text.

Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.

Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. Useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Most recent U.S. news content, as well as archives back into the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Includes access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal and a large collection of local and regional newspapers on the ProQuest platform. INCLUDES FORMER BLACK NEWSPAPERS.

The Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. A rich core collection of archival movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.

Access to unique and historically important content produced by the public television and radio station WGBH. Contains video, audio, images, and searchable transcripts of our collective cultural heritage in moving images and sound.