Research Guides @ Fordham: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Finding Articles

Searching for Specific Articles & Journals

Finding Full Text Journals & Periodicals (Video)
Watch this video to learn how to look up journals, magazines, and newspapers individually from a citation.

Selection of Journals

This section contains a selection of subscribed journals:

Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan

Articles from journals that Fordham does not subscribe to can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. If the library is able to get access, these articles will be delivered to researchers electronically.

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

Gender & Sexuality Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale database with full text access to popular and scholarly articles, books, news, images, and videos.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
ProQuest database with an index of scholarly and community publications from 1970 to present relevant to gender, women's, and LGBTQ studies.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
EBSCO database with indexing and abstracts covering the full spectrum of gender-related scholarship from scholarly and popular publications.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals available in full text. The Feminist & Women's Studies collection contains 38 journals.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. Women, Gender, and Sexuality Studies collection contains 23 journals. No access to books.
SAGE Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 700 journals.

NYPL Resources

NYPL Library Cards
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State. Apply for a card to access subscription-based LGBTQ resources.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Offers indexing and abstracting of content related to gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender studies in over 230 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Available onsite at NYPL branches; see access locations listed.

Current Newspapers & Magazines

Community Magazines

The Advocate (magazine)
Bi-monthly magazine of LGBT interest with coverage from 9/17/1996 to present.
Out (magazine)
Monthly LGBTQ publication with highest circulation in the United States. Coverage from May 2006 to present.

Community Newspapers

Gay City News
The only LGBT newspaper serving New York City and America's largest circulation LGBT print newspaper.
Washington Blade
Covering the Washington, DC area LGBTQ community as well as national and international news since 1969.
Bay Windows
New England's largest publication for lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender readers since 1983.
Bay Area Reporter
America's longest continuously-published, and highest circulation LGBTQ newspaper serving San Francisco's lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender communities.
Philadelphia Gay News
Community newspaper for the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender community in Philadelphia since 1976.

Mainstream Newspapers

See the fulling listing of mainstream newspaper subscriptions here.

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Studies (LGBTQ): Finding Articles

Articles & Databases