Find Industry Research - CMGB7530 - Innovation in Media Business Models - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

What are Industry Codes?

Industry classification codes organize companies into industrial groupings based on similar production processes, similar products, or similar behavior in financial markets. The two most-used systems in the United States are NAICS and SIC although there are others. Upon entering such a code, many business databases provide a list of companies within that code thereby defining a market.

U.S. Department of Commerce - Census - NAICS Code Lookup
U.S. Department of Labor - OSHA - SIC Code Lookup
This page allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC, and to examine the manual structure.

Industry Rankings

Access the Business Rankings Annual through the Business Insights database.

Business Insights: Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Research and analyze worldwide companies and industries. Extensive reference content from scholarly journals, news, market research reports, market share reporter, SWOT reports and more.

Reference Books on the Subject of Industry Coverage in the Fordham Library

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (2012) by Leo Troy
Call Number: HF5681.R25 T7
Chicago, IL: CCH.
Available at LC and WC
Encyclopedia of American Industries [electronic resource]
Detroit, Mich. : Gale, c2011.
Encyclopedia of Associations. National Organizations of the U.S. [electronic resource] by Thomson Gale
[United States] : Thomson Gale, 52nd edition.
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries by Donohue Group Inc (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: Ref.+HC102 .E54 2007
Millerton, NY : Grey House Publishing, c2007.
Available at RH

Industry Statistics

Business Research Guide Page on Industry Statistics

S&P Net Advantage: Link to Industry Reports

Industry Reports from NetAdvantage

Sample of Books About Specific Industries Available in the Fordham Library

The Business of Food by H.W. Wilson
Call Number: GN407 .B87 2013
Ipswich, MA : H. W. Wilson, A Division of EBSCO Publishing, Inc., 2013
Available at RH and LC
Electricity Markets and Power System Economics [electronic resource] by Deqiang Gan; Donghan Feng; Jun Xie
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, [2014]
The Global Oil and Gas Industry by Andrew C. Inkpen; Michael H. Moffett
Call Number: HD62.4 .I515 2011
Tulsa, Okla. : PennWell, c2011.
Available at RH
The Greening of the Automotive Industry by Giuseppe Calabrese (Editor)
Call Number: HD9710.A2 G74 2012
Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Available at WC
The Life of the Automobile: The Complete History of the Motor Car by Steven Parissien
Call Number: TL15 .P37 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Thomas Dunne Books: St. Martin's Press
Available at RH and LC
Mastering Iron [electronic resource]: The Struggle to Modernize an American Industry, 1800-1868 by Anne Kelly Knowles
Chicago ; London : University of Chicago Press, 2013.
Motoring the Future by Petra Blum; Mark Schneider; Engelbert Wimmer
Call Number: HD9710.A2 W56 2012
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012.
Available at RH
Overbooked: the Exploding Business of Travel and Tourism by Elizabeth Becker
Call Number: G155.A1 B382 2013
Publication Date: 2013
New York : Simon & Schuster, 2013.
Available at RH and LC
Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Moss
Call Number: RA784 .M638 2013
New York : Random House
Available at RH and LC
Shaping the Industrial Century: the Remarkable Story of the Evolution of the Modern Chemical and Pharmaceutical Industries by Alfred D. Chandler
Call Number: HD9651.5 .C457 2005
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 2005.
Available at RH and LC
Note: Also available in Ebook format. Access to the Ebook link may be found in the Fordham Library Catalog.
Taking Food Public by Carole Counihan (Editor); Psyche Williams Forson (Editor)
Call Number: (LC) GT2850 .T326 2011
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Where Am I Wearing? by Kelsey Timmerman
Call Number: HD9940.A2 T56 2009
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2009.

Available at RH

Sample of Industry Journals and Trade Magazines Available in the Fordham Library

Access to these and other publications may be found on the Fordham Library website (www.fordham/library) by entering the title or subject under "Quick Search" in the "Electronic Books and Journals" search box.

AFBM Journal: Agricultural Business Management & Farming Systems
Best's Review
Beverage Industry (0148-6187)
Construction & Building Materials (0950-0618)
Energy Business Journal (1945-6964)
Financial Services Review (1057-0810)
Food and Beverage Packaging (1941-8531)
Manufacturing and Technology News
Renewable Energy Today
Ward's Auto World (0043-0315)

U.S. Census - Economic Census

U.S. Census - Economic Census
The Economic Census profiles American business every 5 years, from the national to the local level.

Business Databases - Company & Industry

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on business, finance, economics - 1971 - present. Offers industry, market research reports and forecasts (Business Monitor and First Research), commodity reports, prices and forecasts (EIU (some) and Oxford Economics) and country reports and forecasts (EIU, Oxford Analytics and Oxford Economics.
Business Insights: Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on foreign and domestic companies drawn from periodical articles, newspapers, press releases, etc.
•Hoover's Company Profiles Database of corporate information and industry analyses. Search by company name, location, industry, sales, or type.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Corporate Affiliations
See Mergent Online
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Find the Encyclopedia of Global Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Manufacturing & Distribution USA, 2013 and International Directory of Company Histories.
Investext (Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu)
Available on MERGENT ONLINE under the INVESTEXT tab through 12/31/24. UseS&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE
Mergent Manuals (Archives) This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the Moody's/Mergent manuals. Covers corporate histories, properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and financial statements.
With the exception of the Municipal and Government, the database covers the following manuals: Industrial (1920-present), Public Utility (1914-present), OTC Industrial (1970-present), OTC Unlisted (1986-present), Transportation (1909-present), International (1981-present), Bank and Finance (1928-present).
Mergent Online (Investext Tab Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu ) This link opens in a new window
INVESTEXT will be discontinued 12/31/24. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more. Use Firefox for best results.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies. There are only some Capital IQ functions in the NetAdvantage platform. Fordham does not subscribe to Capital IQ.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Investment information and analysis.
Click sign out link when finished, 6 simultaneous users limit. Use Google Chrome for best results. CLEAR CACHE FOR REMOTE ACCESS.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Websites that Offer Industry Information

A.T. Kearney - Industries
Analysis covers aerospace & defense, automotive, chemistry, communications, media & telecom, consumer products & retail, financial institutions, health, metals & mining, oil & gas, private equity, public sector, transportation, travel & infrastructure and utilities.
Booz & Co. - Industry Perspectives 2012
Industry Perspectives research, written by the leadership of Booz & Company’s industry practices, examine industry-wide trends, identify key decisions leaders need to make in 2012, and discuss the capabilities that companies need to build in order to be successful in this challenging global economic environment.
Capgemini Research & Insights - Industry Reports
CorpWatch - Industries
Pricewaterhousecoopers Money Tree Survey
Pricewaterhousecoopers Research and Insights - Industry
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) - Industry Economic Accounts
The Industry Economic Accounts, presented both in an input-output framework and as annual output by each industry, provide a detailed view of the interrelationships between U.S. producers and users and the contribution to production across industries. These accounts are used extensively by policymakers and businesses to understand industry interactions, productivity trends, and the changing structure of the U.S. economy.
U.S. Census - Current Industrial Reports (CIR)
The Current Industrial Report (CIR) program has been providing monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity for many years. The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products. The data are used to satisfy economic policy needs and for market analysis, forecasting, and decision-making in the private sector.
U.S. Department of Commerce - International Trade Association - Office of Industry Analysis
Industry Analysis, an office of Manufacturing and Services within the International Trade Administration, provides information and analysis pertaining to issues affecting U.S. industry competitiveness to facilitate the establishment of sound policies that contribute to U.S. economic welfare.

CMGB7530 - Innovation in Media Business Models : Find Industry Research