Find Company Research - CMGB7530 - Innovation in Media Business Models - Research Guides @ Fordham at Fordham University Libraries

Researching a Company

Public or Private?

Public companies issue stock and/or debt. Also, they are required to submit financial statements to a regulating authority. Private companies are not required to do so.

What Does the Company Say?

Read a company's financial statements and annual reports which can be found on the company's website or the SEC's EDGAR database.

What Do Others Say?

Read news articles, analyst reports and other secondary sources to round out a profile.

Sample of Books on Specific Companies Available in the Fordham Library

The AIG Story by Maurice R. Greenberg; Lawrence A. Cunningham
Call Number: E-BOOK
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2013 Books24x7.com [generator])
The Enron Scandal by Theodore F. Sterling
Call Number: HD9502.U54 E5738 2002
New York : Nova Science Publishers.
Available at RH
Exxon: Transforming Energy, 1973-2005 by Joseph A. Pratt; William E. Hale (As told to)
Call Number: HD9569.E95 P73 2013
Austin, Texas : Dolph Briscoe Center for American History, The University of Texas, 2013.
Available at RH
The Eye of the Storm : How John Chambers Steered Cisco Through the Technology Collapse by Robert Slater
Call Number: HD9696.2.U64 C5767 2003
New York : HarperBusiness, c2003.
Available at RH
The Loudest Voice in the Room by Gabriel Sherman
Call Number: PN4888.T4 S54 2014
New York, New York: Random House
Available at LC
Money and Power: How Goldman Sachs Came to Rule the World by William D. Cohan
Call Number: HG4930.5 .C645 2011
New York [N.Y.] : Doubleday, c2011.
Available at RH and LC
Private Empire: ExxonMobil and American Power by Steve Coll
Call Number: HD9569.E95 C65 2012
New York : Penguin Press, 2012.
Available at RH
Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson
Call Number: QA76.2J63 I722 2011
New York, NY : Simon & Schuster, 2011.
Available at RH, LC and WC
Who Says Elephants Can't Dance?: Inside IBM's Historic Turnaround by Louis V. Gerstner
Call Number: HD9696.2.U64 I2545 2002
New York : HarperBusiness, c2002.
Available at RH and LC
Walmart in China by Anita Chan (Editor)
Call Number: HF5429.215.C6 W35 2011
Ithaca : ILR Press, 2011.
Available at RH

Business Databases - Company & Industry

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on business, finance, economics - 1971 - present. Offers industry, market research reports and forecasts (Business Monitor and First Research), commodity reports, prices and forecasts (EIU (some) and Oxford Economics) and country reports and forecasts (EIU, Oxford Analytics and Oxford Economics.
Business Insights: Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Detailed information on foreign and domestic companies drawn from periodical articles, newspapers, press releases, etc.
•Hoover's Company Profiles Database of corporate information and industry analyses. Search by company name, location, industry, sales, or type.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Full text for thousands of journals and other sources. Covers business, economics, management, accounting, etc.
Corporate Affiliations
See Mergent Online
Gale Ebooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
Find the Encyclopedia of Global Industries, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Manufacturing & Distribution USA, 2013 and International Directory of Company Histories.
Investext (Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu)
Available on MERGENT ONLINE under the INVESTEXT tab through 12/31/24. UseS&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE
Mergent Manuals (Archives) This link opens in a new window
Complete run of the Moody's/Mergent manuals. Covers corporate histories, properties, subsidiaries, officers and directors, long-term debt and financial statements.
With the exception of the Municipal and Government, the database covers the following manuals: Industrial (1920-present), Public Utility (1914-present), OTC Industrial (1970-present), OTC Unlisted (1986-present), Transportation (1909-present), International (1981-present), Bank and Finance (1928-present).
Mergent Online (Investext Tab Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu ) This link opens in a new window
INVESTEXT will be discontinued 12/31/24. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more. Use Firefox for best results.
S&P Global NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of industry and company analysis including S&P Industry Surveys, S&P Equity Research, and new “Markets” tab with drill downs to industry and sub-industry key ratios, benchmarks, constituents. Company data covers a global universe of over 3 million private companies and 250,000 public companies. There are only some Capital IQ functions in the NetAdvantage platform. Fordham does not subscribe to Capital IQ.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Investment information and analysis.
Click sign out link when finished, 6 simultaneous users limit. Use Google Chrome for best results. CLEAR CACHE FOR REMOTE ACCESS.

Finding Subsidiaries (Fordham Library Databases)

Corporate Affiliations
See Mergent Online
Mergent Online (Investext Tab Discontinued - Access ends 12/31/24; Use S&P Global NetAdvantage and Gale Business Insights or contact GabelliIT@fordham.edu ) This link opens in a new window
INVESTEXT will be discontinued 12/31/24. For advanced business research, SEE GABELLI ONLY RESEARCH GUIDE Comprehensive global company database. Includes deep current and historical financial and industry information with report building. Includes news, competitors, and much more. Use Firefox for best results.

Finding Company Histories (Fordham Lbrary Databases)

Business Insights: Gale Business Insights This link opens in a new window
Provides access to International Directory of Company Histories

Fortune 500 List 1955 - 2005

Find Corporate Public Affairs Offices (PACs, Foundations, etc.)

Corporate Public Affairs 31st Edition by Columbia Books (Editor)
Call Number: Ref+HD60.5.U5 N37
Bethesda, MD: Columbia Books, Inc.
Available at LC

Directories

The Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms 2012 (Directory of Venture Capital and Private Equity Firms) by Laura Mars
Call Number: HG4751.D574 2012
Amenia, NY: Grey House Publishing, 2012
Available at LC

Private Company Information

To find private company information, in addition to looking at the company's website, check the following Fordham Library databases: ABI/Inform, Hoover's, Business Source Complete, LexisNexis, Mergent (check off Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Database) and ThomsonONE Investext.

Websites that Offer Company Information

Bloomberg.com
CNN Money
CNBC
CorpWatch
ETFChannel.com
Google Finance
New York State Department of State, Division of Corporations, State Records & UCC
SEC Edgar
Government website that provides access to SEC filings by companies.
SEDAR
Yahoo Finance

CMGB7530 - Innovation in Media Business Models : Find Company Research