Research Guides @ Fordham: Chemistry: Science Media and News

Video Resources

Search through our streaming video databases to find science lab experiments, dissections, explanations of scientific concepts, documentaries, lectures, technology tutorials, and more.

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
PBS Videos have been removed. More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes Dance, Music, Classical Performance, and Opera in Video. MUST STAY ON THE ACADEMIC VIDEO CHANNEL - DO NOT CLICK ON CHANNELS LINK. DO NOT EMBED LINKS OR CODE IN BLACKBOARD TO AVOID REMOTE AUTHENTICATION ISSUES. Rather, share the database-generated links via email, chat, or syllabi. What's New (and Some HIGHLIGHTS) in Academic Video Online...
Should you get an error page when trying to access content on-campus or remotely, clear cache / cookies and / or try a different browser that has been cleared of cache / cookies.
TIB AV-Portal This link opens in a new window
Operated by The Leibniz Information Center for Science and Technology (TIB), an open access platform on which most scientific videos such as conference recordings, simulations, animations, lectures and visualized research data can be published and viewed free of charge.
Underline Digital Video Library This link opens in a new window
Conference proceedings on video to preserve the valuable knowledge shared in the early stages of research. Also contains posters and masterclasses. Multidisciplinary.

Additional video resources:

NASA+
A ad-free, no-cost video streaming service that includes NASA missions and documentaries.
PBS NOVA
Fordham does not subscribe, not all content is free. Documents technology, nature, space, the human body, and more.

Chemistry Media

Interactive Content:

ChemDraw
ChemDraw is available at no cost to all Fordham, students, faculty, and staff. Also known as ChemOffice or ChemBioDraw.
ChemEdX
Interactive digital content for use in chemical sciences education.
Dynamic Periodic Table
Site for interactive data on every element.
The Materials Project
Open web-based access to computed information on known and predicted materials.
Wired Chemist
Contains chemistry tutorials, modules, datasets, and professional resources.

Videos:

General Chemistry from Khan Academy
General chemistry YouTube video tutorials that break down concepts. Good for first-year chemistry students.
Khan Academy - Chemistry
A collection of video tutorials that start with the basics of chemistry through organic chemistry.
The Organic Chemistry Tutor
Tutorial videos that include topics in general chemistry, organic chemistry, and biochemistry.
Periodic Videos
A video for each element on the periodic table, as well as videos about science news and interesting molecules.

Podcasts:

Hello PhD
Discussions about getting into labs, research post-docs, faculty, and other aspects of post-baccalaureate life. Hosted by Joshua Hall and Daniel Arneman.

Image Resources

Search through our image databases to find historical collections and web archives of scientific study, experimentation, and scientists' biographical information.

Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Brings scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds from around the world. Illustrated.
Formerly "Birds of North America Online."
JSTOR & Artstor Open Access Content This link opens in a new window
Open Access content in a variety of formats. Search for Ebooks, E-Journals, Images and Special Collections hosted on JSTOR & Artstor all freely available to access.
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new window
Digital collections in many formats.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery This link opens in a new window
Provides open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs.

Additional image resources:

NASA Image and Video Library
Archive of pictures, videos, and audio from the beginnings of NASA to the present day.
CDC: Public Health Image Library
Hosted by the CDC, for the historic documentation of public health. These images are not meant to represent the context of the current time period.
Cell Image Library
From the Center for Research in Biological Systems, this image library contains over 10,000 unique datasets and 20 TB of data.

News Resources and Magazines

Selected Science News Resources:

New York Times (Fordham & The New York Times) This link opens in a new window
Information for free online access to the New York Times. Administered and supported by the Division of Student Affairs and the Parents Fund. Scroll down and click on "New Subscribers" to create a personal account.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
NEW PLATFORM. Major U.S. and world news company profiles, SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, and Hoover's Company Reports. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers. FOR BEST RESULTS: MUST CREATE ACCOUNT & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
See link below for downloading information....
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.

Selected Popular Science Magazines:

American Scientist
New Scientist
Popular Mechanics
Scientific American
The Magazine Rack: Science and Scientific Magazines
A collection of online magazines published in science and technology fields.
The Scientist
Must make a free account for full access.

Chemistry: Science Media and News

Using Science Media and News

Video Resources

Chemistry Media

Image Resources

Other Interactive Content

News Resources and Magazines

Reference & Instruction Department