Research Guides @ Fordham: Chemistry: Databases

Chemistry Literature Databases

American Chemical Society Journals & Archive This link opens in a new window
Current full text access to select journal titles and the entire ACS archives from 1879 to 1995.
ChemRxiv This link opens in a new window
Free submission, distribution and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.

PubChem
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). They collect information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, health, safety, and toxicity data.

SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform) This link opens in a new window
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. Reference, substance, reaction and supplier content. New: Formulations data, Analytical methods and Historical chemistry content. Also includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and more. NEW USERS CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR PERSONAL ACCOUNT. ACCESS DOES NOT WORK USING VPN. USERS MUST GO TO THE SCIFINDER DATABASE LINK ABOVE AND AUTHENTICATE INTO FORDHAM NETWORK USING FORDHAM UN AND PW. THEN FOLLOW PROMPTS TO LOGIN WITH PERSONAL SCIFINDER UN/PW.
Remote users see more notes below.
REMOTE USERS: Must do the following to access full text.
Full Text Dropdown > View all Sources > Under In House Resources, click on Find Full Text. If content doesn't appear in window, select a different source in the sidebar.
TOXNET (See Information Below) This link opens in a new window
Most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services as part of a broader NLM reorganization. See a list of current sites here that contain former Toxnet information.

General Science Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences. No access to Economics and Computer Science titles.
ArXiv archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text, open archive and distribution server for theoretical and applied scientific research papers. Hosted by Cornell University. Coverage 1991 to the present.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of subscribed journals and four collections - Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Econometrics, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
Nature Journal This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
PubMed/MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Provides access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements vital to scientific and technical literature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles. Make sure the Open Access filter remains selected. Chrome browser recommended.
Wiley Online Library - All Journals Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all Wiley Journals Collection. Typical access is 1996/1997 to Present. Always click on the journal title to see specific years of access, even if there is no access icon visible on the front page.

Chemical Structures Databases

Cambridge Structural Database
From Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center. The CSD is the world's repository for small-molecule organic and metal-organic crystal structures. Access only from dedicated terminals. Contact Grace Phillips (gphillips16@fordham.edu) for information.
ChemSpider This link opens in a new window
A free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 25 million structures, properties and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from more than 400 data sources, it enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. Owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

NIST Chemistry WebBook
The National Institute of Standards and Technology provides convenient access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well-defined chemical species and reactions.

Spectral Databases

These databases are specifically designed for users to look up spectral data, but some databases listed in other boxes may also contain this data, like ChemSpider and the NIST Chemistry WebBook.

Spectral Database for Organic Compounds (SDBS)
Free resource to find organic compound spectral data (MS, IR, 1H-NMR, 13C-NMR, Raman, and ESR) organized by the National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Japan.
SpectraBase
From Wiley, includes spectra in these techniques: CNMR, HNMR, XNMR, Raman, IR, UV-Vis, and MS. To access results, you must create a free account.

Patent Searching

These resources allow the general public with free full-text access to patents around the world. Some other library databases listed on this page, like SciFinder, may also provide access to patents.

Global Dossier
From the USPTO, an international collaboration of patent offices in Europe, Japan, Korea, Australia, Israel, and Canada.
Google Patents
Search for and read through patents from all around the world, open to the public. Researchers can simultaneously search through Google Scholar for literature about the patents.
USPTO: Public Patent Search
From the United States Patent and Trademark Office for patents filed in the USA.

Library Services

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, book chapters, etc. that Fordham does not own.
Document Delivery Request Form
If you would like a scan of a book chapter or a journal article in our print collection emailed to you, fill out the form linked above.
WorldCat
OCLC's subscription-based platform for precision searching of WorldCat. Offers robust options to search by title, author, subject heading, format, publisher, publication city, and more.

Chemistry: Databases