Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: National, Political

American National Biography

American National Biography - Access Ends 6/30/25 | NYPL Onsite Access Available
Lives of over over 20,000 deceased Americans published by Oxford University Press.

Print Access: Call Number: (LC RH) Ref CT213 .A68, 25 vols.
New York: Oxford University Press, 1999.

American

Dictionary of American Biography (DAB) by American Council of Learned Societies
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref E176.D56, 22 vols.

New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1928.

Biographical essays on persons who have made significant contribution to American life.
The Scribner Encyclopedia of American Lives by Kenneth T. Jackson (Editor)
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref CT213.S37, 8 vols.

New York: C. Scribner's Sons, 1998.

Expands the DAB to place selected individuals in their historical context. Photographs of each person.
American Decades, 1900-1999 by Vincent Tompkins (Editor)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref + E169.12 .A42, 10 vols.

Detroit: Gale Research, 1994-2001.

Each ten year volume has a section titled “Headline Makers” that is useful for identifying prominent individuals.
American Decades: 2000-2009 by Carol Nagel (Editor)
Detroit, Mich.: Gale, 2011.

Each ten year volume has a section titled “Headline Makers” that is useful for identifying prominent individuals.
American Dissidents: An Encyclopedia of Activists, Subversives, and Prisoners of Conscience. by Kathlyn Gay (Editor)
Call Number: E747 .A678 2012, 2 vols.

Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2012.

US Government & Law

Official Congressional Directory
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref & Stacks JK1011

Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 1887-
Black Americans in Congress, 1870-2007 by United States. Congress. House. Committee on House Administration.
Call Number: (RH) Ref E185.96 .B526 2008

Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 2008.
Women in Congress 1917-2006 by Matthew Wasniewski (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref + JK1030.A2 W6 2006

Washington, D.C.: U.S. G.P.O., 2006.
Hispanic Americans in Congress, 1822-1995 by Carmen E. Enciso; Tracy North
Washington, DC: U.S. G.P.O., 1995
Biographical Dictionary of the United States Secretaries of the Treasury, 1789-1995. by Bernard S. Katz; C. Daniel Vencill
Call Number: (RH) Ref HJ268 .B5 1996

Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1996.

Lengthy biographical articles with bibliographies and economic analysis.
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Supreme Court by Thomas Lewis; Richard L. Wilson; R. Kent Rasmussen; Dawn P. Dawson - (Editors)
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref KF8742.A35 E53 2001, 3 vols.

Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA, 2008
American Law Yearbook
Call Number: (RH) Ref K13.A16 (1998-2006) electronic (2007-- )

Detroit: Thomson Gale, annual.

Irish Biography Database

Dictionary of Irish Biography
Comprehensive dictionary spanning over 9000 lives of Irish men and women who made a significant contribution.

Print access: Call Number: DA916 .D53 2009, 9 vols.
New York: Cambridge University Press, 2009.

Print access listed below.

Other Countries & Regions

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography by H.C.G. Matthew; Brian Howard Harrison; British Academy Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DA28 .O95, Rev. ed.

Publication Date: 2004-09-01

New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Biographies of deceased individuals who influenced British history and life from the 4th century BC to the 21st century. New profiles added quarterly to the online edition.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography = Dictionnaire biographique du Canada by Bélanger, Réal
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref F1005.D52, 12 vols.

Toronto: University of Toronto, 2003.

Biographies of important Canadians who died between the years 1000 and 1930. Search in either English or French.
Biographical Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa by Michael R. Fischbach
Call Number: (RH) Ref CT1866 .B56, 2 vols.

Detroit: Gale Group, c2008.

Biographies of the most influential and controversial figures in the Middle East and North Africa who came to prominence during the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.
An African Biographical Dictionary by Norbert C. Brockman
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref DT18 .B76, 2nd ed.

Millerton, NY: Grey House Pub., 2006.

Biographies of religious and political leaders, business people, educators, athletes, scientists, artists, and others from the continental African nations.
Biographical Dictionary of Central and Eastern Europe in the Twentieth Century by Wojciech Roszkowski (Editor); Jan Kofman (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref CT765.S5913

Armonk, N.Y.: M.E. Sharpe, 2008.

Includes biographies from Albania, Belarus, Bulgaria, Czech and Slovak nations, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Romania and Moldova, Ukraine, and Yugoslavia’s successor states.
Encyclopedia of World Biography by Suzanne M. Bourgoin; Paula K. Byers
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref T103.E56, 17 vols.

Detroit: Gale Research, 1998.

Extensive topic and geographic index. Includes photographs as well as biographies.
World Military Leaders: A Biographical Dictionary. by Mark Grossman
New York, NY: Facts On File, 2007.

Brief biographies indexed by personal name and by war.
Who's Who in France / Qui Est Qui en France
Call Number: (RH) Ref & Stacks DC36 .W4

Paris: J. Lafitte, 1953/54 - .
Who's Who in Germany
Call Number: (RH) Stacks DD85 .W4

Munich: Intercontinental Book and Publishing Co, 1956-1996.

Biographical Research: National, Political

American National Biography

American

US Government & Law

Irish Biography Database

Other Countries & Regions

Reference & Instruction Department