Biographical Research: Primary Sources

Over 400 topically-focused digital collections of historical content arranged into sixteen subject areas. 

Formerly Accessible Archives. Primary source materials from books, newspapers and periodicals with views of American history and culture during the 19th century. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, descriptions of daily life, advertisements, and genealogical records are available.

Partnership of major research institutions and libraries creating digital archive of library materials. Full text access only to the portion of the archive comprising public domain works, indicated by "Full View". Not completely Open Access. Downloading or printing depends on each title's copyright status. Click into each title to see entitlements on the left sidebar.

Full text of 180,000 books published from 1700 to 1799. Transitioning to a new platform. Not all Browse functions working.

New interface 1/4/24. From Readex. Books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the early 19th century from the bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker.

Key archival materials consisting of digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon presidencies taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.

Working case files of the NAACP's Legal Department from 1956 to 1972. The cases pertain to school desegregation, abuses of police procedure, employment discrimination, freedom of speech, privacy, freedom of association, and housing discrimination.

Records covering subjects that are crucial to the NAACP's history, such as civil rights complaints and legislation, the Klan, Birth of a Nation, the Walter White-W. E. B. Du Bois controversy of 1933-1934, the "red scare," relations with African colonial liberation movements, fundraising and membership recruitment, urban riots, the War on Poverty, and the emergence of the Black Power Movement.

Primary source materials highlighting U.S. international relations from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks.