Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biographical Dictionary of Christian Missions by
Call Number: (RH, LC) Ref BV3700 .B56
New York: Macmillan Reference USA, 1998.
Brief biographies, including indices for time period, women, martyrs, geographical region of service, agency, order, religious tradition, and type of services provided.
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref AY81.R6F8 (older editions in stacks)
Huntington, Ind.: Our Sunday Visitor, Inc., 1969 - .
Biographies of the Pope, Cardinals, American Bishops, and other theological figures.
Encyclopedia Judaica, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: (LC, RH) Ref DS102.8 .E64, 22 vols.
Detroit: Macmillan Reference USA. 2007.
An authoritative and comprehensive encyclopedia containing many biographical entries.
Encyclopedia of Buddhism by
New York: Facts on File, 2008.
A specialized encyclopedia which includes biographical articles, a chronology, and lists of Zen patriarchs and major dynasties.
Holocaust Survivors by
Call Number: (RH) Rosenblatt Holocaust Collection D804.3 .T34 2007, 2 vols
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2007.
Notable Muslims by
Call Number: (RH) Ref BP70 .D45 2006.
Oxford: Oneworld, 2006.
Biographies of contemporary Muslim men and women from a wide range of professions.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Full text of OUP reference books on African Americans. Includes the entire contents of the Dictionary of African Biography and The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic, minority, and native presses providing researchers with diverse perspectives from 1959-present (varies by publication). Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People; and Multi-Ethnic People.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative historical and current perspectives on the subject of gender roles. Covers both men and women, gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies with a unique interdisciplinary approach. The collection represents multiple viewpoints from a wide variety of publications.
Race, Ethnicity, Sexual Orientation
Who's Who Among African Americans by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E185.96 .W5 ED, Multi-Volume Set
New York: Gale Research, 1996 - .
Brief profiles of both living and deceased African Americans.
African American National Biography by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E185.96 A496, 8 vols.
New York: Oxford University Press, 2008.
Notable Latino Americans by
Call Number: (LC) Ref E184.S75 M435.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
Detailed articles of both living and deceased Latino Americans. Professional and Ethnic appendices.
Distinguished Asian Americans by
Call Number: (LC RH) Ref E184.O6 D57.
Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1999.
Detailed articles of both living and deceased Asian American. Professional and Ethnic appendices.
American Indian Biographies, Revised Edition by
Call Number: (RH) Ref E89 .A46.
Pasadena, Calif.: Salem Press, 2005.
Brief biographies with bibliographies and some images. Includes tribal maps, timeline, and indices for variant names, tribal affiliations, year of birth, and subject.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)