Research Guides @ Fordham: Biographical Research: Internet Resources

.Gov

New York State Assembly Members
Hosted by the New York State Assembly, this database contains biographical information as well as video, news, sponsored legislation, committee membership, publications, and maps. The information is presented to promote the politician.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-Present.
Hosted by the United States Congress, this database may be searched by name, year, state, political party, and/or position.
Presidents of the United States of America.
Hosted by the White House, this database contains only brief anecdotal biographies.
World Leaders - aka Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments.
Hosted by the United States Central Intelligence Agency (CIA), this database contains only the names and dates of service for individuals. A supplementary source is required for full biographical information.
Black Family Research
Records of Post-Civil War Federal Agencies at the National Archives.
Reference Information Paper 108.
National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, DC : 2001
Using Civilian Records for Genealogical Research in the National Archives Washington, DC, Area
REFERENCE INFORMATION PAPER 110, revised.
National Archives and Records Administration, Washington, DC : 2006.
The Official Website of the British Monarchy
The official website of the British monarchy, it contains biographical information, a family tree, as well as information about the activities, interests, and events which occupy the British royalty.

.Org

New York Genealogical & Biographical Society - NYG&B
The NYG&B helps people of all backgrounds – especially those connected with New York City, State, and region – discover their family histories and find meaning by placing their own family’s experience into the broader context of American history
Nobel Prize Winners
Biographical information as it pertains to the award.
Academy of American Poets
Hosted by the Academy of American Poets, this website provides brief biographies of poets, as well as the full-text of selected poems.
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame
Biographies of inductees, may be sorted by name and by year. Group biographies are provided for bands.
Baseball Hall of Fame
Biographies of inductees, may be searched by name, position, league, state, and year.
Schomburg Center - African American Women Writers of the 19th Century
This digital collection from the New York Public Library Schomburg Center provides full-text, keyword search access to the autobiographical writing of 52 historic African American women writers.

.Com

Biography.com
A commercial website with brief biographies, photographs, and links to related websites. Many advertisements.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
This website may be searched by name and keyword. It provides brief biographies with bibliographies and photos. Many advertisements.
Forbes Lists of Wealth & Power:
World’s Billionaires, Forbes 400, World's Most Powerful Women, Celebrity 100, World's Most Powerful People. These lists provide a snapshot of the most rich and powerful people in the world. The website provides brief biographies as well a relevant business news and financial data.

.Edu

Australian Dictionary of Biography
Created by the Australian National University, this comprehensive database is an excellent source for biographical information on Australian nationals and the indigenous people who historically populated that region.

Podcasts

Oxford DNB Biography Podcasts
From this page you can listen to a selection of Oxford DNB biographies, either by downloading the individual life or by subscribing to the fortnightly podcast, released every second Wednesday. Each episode lasts between 10 and 25 minutes.
PBS/GBH - American Experience, Biography Podcasts
On air and online, the series brings to life the incredible characters and epic stories that have shaped America’s past and present.
BBC Radio - Great Lives
Great Lives is a biography radio series which explores the lives of great people. Host Matthew Parris interviews eminent guests and experts to reveal the truth behind history heroes.

Biographical Research: Internet Resources

.Gov

.Org

.Com

.Edu

Podcasts

Reference & Instruction Department