Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles & Databases
This page highlights resources for finding articles and using databases at Fordham University Libraries.
- A periodical is a journal, magazine or newspaper published regularly on a schedule. Researchers can look up periodicals individually or search on a topic across many periodicals through a database.
- Library databases may contain a combination of scholarly peer-reviewed articles as well as popular items such as news, theatre reviews, opinion pieces, interviews, and more.
If you are unsure about how to find something you need, feel free to Ask a Librarian to point you in the right direction.
Using Databases to Find Articles
Library databases allow researchers to search across many publications at once to find articles on a specific topic.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive research database for theatre and dance studies with hundreds of magazines and journals in full text.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this subject index covers the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (International Index to Performing Arts) This link opens in a new window
Index to periodicals on theatre and dance with some full text options.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Gale's literature platform for cross-searching: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne's Authors on GVRL.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 960,000 records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS & JOURNALS - ENDS 6/30/23) This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of academic journals in full text. Includes 27 journals covering Performing Arts.
In addition to searching the databases in the "Using Databases to Find Articles" box, try the following publications:
To search across additional databases for reviews, try the following options:
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes major U.S. and world news. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace. FOR BEST RESULTS: Turn off pop up blockers and create an account.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of multilingual ethnic community newspapers, magazines and journals in the U.S since 1991.
Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 10 premier historical titles dating back to 1893.
Finding Articles from a Citation
American Theatre : A Publication of the Theatre Communications Group
Fordham has access to this magazine/trade journal in print from 1984 - 1992 and electronic access from 1992 to present across databases. Additional content can also be found on the magazine's current website
TDR: Drama Review
Fordham has electronic access to this publication across databases from 1988 to present. Search the catalog for earlier volumes under The Drama Review (1968 - 1987), Tulane Drama Review (1957 - 1967), The Carleton Drama Review (1955 - 1956), and The Carleton Drama Bulletin (1949 - 1954).
Print Journals & Books
Document Delivery Service
If Fordham owns an anthology or periodical in print, request a book chapter or article to be scanned and delivered to you electronically.
Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan
Articles from journals that Fordham does not subscribe to can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. If the library is able to get access, these articles will be delivered to researchers electronically.
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)