Research Guides @ Fordham: Theatre: Finding Articles in Databases

Using Databases to Find Articles

Library databases allow researchers to search across many publications at once to find articles on a specific topic.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Definitive research database for theatre and dance studies with hundreds of magazines and journals in full text.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), this subject index covers the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. Does not include MLA Directory of Periodicals.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (International Index to Performing Arts) This link opens in a new window
Index to periodicals on theatre and dance with some full text options.
Gale Literature Platform Search This link opens in a new window
Gale's literature platform for cross-searching: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Gale Virtual Reference Library, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Online and Twayne's Authors on GVRL.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL) This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 960,000 records, from 1892 through to today with regular monthly updates of newly indexed material.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Full text of almost 500 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. No access to books.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR This link opens in a new window
Archive of hundreds of academic journals in full text. Includes 27 journals covering Performing Arts.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.

Finding Reviews

In addition to searching the databases in the "Using Databases to Find Articles" box, try the following publications:

New York Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Full text from 1980 to the present. Under the Document Type limiter, select Reviews.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of the New York Times for 1851-2017.

The New Yorker
Access from 1978 to present online. **Search the library catalog for print & microform options before 1978.**
New York Magazine
Access from 2005 to present.
Entertainment Weekly
Access from 1993 to present.

Additional Databases

To search across additional databases for reviews, try the following options:

Full List of Databases
Includes current and historical newspaper databases, as well as other databases that include other content.

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Includes major U.S. and world news. Features include alerts, saved searches, and collaborative workspace. FOR BEST RESULTS: Turn off pop up blockers and create an account.
A user will be able to download 250 titles/headlines from the search results list at a time. Checking the box next to each search result allows users to download the full document. The system will allow downloading of 100 documents or 1,000 pages at a time. There are no overall total download limits.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of multilingual ethnic community newspapers, magazines and journals in the U.S since 1991.
Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers This link opens in a new window
More than 10 premier historical titles dating back to 1893.

Selected Publications

American Theatre : A Publication of the Theatre Communications Group
Fordham has access to this magazine/trade journal in print from 1984 - 1992 and electronic access from 1992 to present across databases. Additional content can also be found on the magazine's current website.
TDR: Drama Review
Fordham has electronic access to this publication across databases from 1988 to present. Search the catalog for earlier volumes under The Drama Review (1968 - 1987), Tulane Drama Review (1957 - 1967), The Carleton Drama Review (1955 - 1956), and The Carleton Drama Bulletin (1949 - 1954).

Print Journals & Books

Document Delivery Service
If Fordham owns an anthology or periodical in print, request a book chapter or article to be scanned and delivered to you electronically.

Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan

Articles from journals that Fordham does not subscribe to can be requested through InterLibrary Loan. If the library is able to get access, these articles will be delivered to researchers electronically.

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

Theatre: Finding Articles in Databases

Articles & Databases

Using Databases to Find Articles

Finding Reviews

Selected Publications

Print Journals & Books

Requesting Articles Through InterLibrary Loan

Reference & Instruction Department