Research Guides @ Fordham: Science (General, Popular, and Applied): Science Biography

Encyclopedias, Indexes, and Dictionaries

African Americans in Science, Math, and Invention: rev ed by Ray Spangenburg
Call Number: Q141 .S6285 2012
New York: Facts on FIle, 2012
African Americans in Science: an encyclopedia of people and progress by Charles W. Carey, Jr
Call Number: Q141 .C2138 2008
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2008
American Women of Science Since 1900 by Tiffany K. Wayne
Call Number: Q141 .W42 2011
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists: 3rd ed
Call Number: Q141 .B528 2000
New York: Oxford University Press, 2000
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: pioneering lives from ancient times to the mid-20th century
Call Number: Q141 .B5285 2000
New York: Routledge, 2000
The Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists: 2nd ed by David Millar
Call Number: Q141 .C128 2002
Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2002
A Century of Nobel Prize Recipients: chemistry, physics, and medicine
Call Number: Q141 .C39 2003
New York: Marcel Dekker: 2003
Distinguished African American Scientists of the 20th Century by James H. Kessler
Call Number: Q141 .D535 1996
Phoenix: Oryx Press, 1996
The Encyclopedia of Ancient Natural Scientists: the Greek tradition and its many heirs
Call Number: Q124.95 .E53 2008
London: Routledge, 2008
Encyclopedia of World Scientists: rev ed by Elizabeth H. Oakes
Call Number: Q141 .O25 2007
New York: Facts on File, 2007
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists by Elizabeth H. Oakes
Call Number: Q141 .O27 2002
New York: Facts on File, 2002
Latinos in Science, Math, and Professions by David E. Newton
Call Number: Q141 .N46 2007
New York: Facts on File, 2007
The Nobel Scientists: biographical encyclopedia by George Thomas Kurian
Call Number: Q141 .K78 2002
Amherst, NY: Prometheus Books, 2002
A to Z of STS Scientists by Elizabeth H. Oakes
Call Number: Q141 .O23 2002
New York: Facts on File, 2002
A to Z of Women in Science and Math: rev ed by Lisa Yount
Call Number: Q141 .Y675 2008
New York: Facts on File, 2008

Science Biography Databases

American Men and Women of Science This link opens in a new window
Biographical directory of today's leaders in physical, biological, and related sciences including medicine.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Lives of famous scientists from all periods and countries.
Marquis Biographies Online (Who's Who in...) (Technical Problems Reported 9/30/24) This link opens in a new window
Brief biographies of over 1.4 million people from all fields: government, business, science, technology, the arts, entertainment, sports.
Access available to the following titles:
Who's Who Among Human Services Professionals
Who's Who in 20th Century America
Who's Who in America
Who's Who in American Art
Who's Who in American Education
Who's Who in American History
Who's Who in American Law
Who's Who in American Nursing
Who's Who in American Politics
Who's Who in Asia
Who's Who in Corporate America
Who's Who in Entertainment
Who's Who in Finance & Business
Who's Who in Media & Communications
Who's Who in Medicine & Healthcare
Who's Who in Religion
Who's Who in Science and Engineering
Who's Who in the East
Who's Who in the Midwest
Who's Who in the South & Southwest
Who's Who in the West
Who's Who in the World
Who's Who of American Women
Who's Who of Emerging Leaders in America
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographies of over 58,000 people who influenced British history and life from the beginnings to the year 2009. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box! Limited to 10 Simultaneous Users.

People of Interest

A map from Thomas Harriot's A Briefe and True Report of the New Found Land of Virginia (1590)

The Arch-Conjuror of England: John Dee by Glynn Parry
Call Number: BF1598.D5 P37 2011
Online Resource
New Haven : Yale University Press, 2011
Helmholtz: A Life In Science by David Cahan
Call Number: Q143.H5 C34 2018
Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2018.
The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt's New World
Call Number: Q143.H9 W85 2015
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2015.
Seduced by Logic by Robyn Arianrhod
Call Number: Q141 .A64 2012
Online Resource
New York : Oxford University Press, 2012
Thomas Harriot: A Life in Science by Robyn Arianrhod
Call Number: Q143.H36 A75 2019
Oxford ; New York, NY : Oxford University Press, 2019
Meeting the Challenge: Top Women in Science by Magdolna Hargittai
Call Number: Q141 .H2628 2023
New York: Oxford University Press, 2023

Science (General, Popular, and Applied): Science Biography

Encyclopedias, Indexes, and Dictionaries

Science Biography Databases

People of Interest

Reference & Instruction Department