Research Guides @ Fordham: Science (General, Popular, and Applied): General Science Reference

Encyclopedias

The American Heritage Science Dictionary
Call Number: Q123 .A5178 2011
Boston: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2011
Dictionary of Scientific Principles
Call Number: Q123 .M27 2011
Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2011
Encyclopedia of Physical Science by Joe Rosen
Call Number: Q121 .R77 2010
New York: Facts on File, 2010
The Encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Call Number: Q121 .E53 2001
New York: Routledge, 2001
Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. 11th ed.
Call Number: Q121 .M3 2012
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2012
Encyclopedia of Scientific Principles, Laws, and Theories by Robert E. Krebs
Call Number: Q121 .K74 2008
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2008
Forsensic Science: 2nd ed. by Salem Press Editors
Call Number: HV8073 .F5776 2015
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2015
Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions and Discoveries of the 17th Century by Michael Windelspecht
Call Number: Q125 .W78 2002
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002
Groundbreaking Scientific Experiments, Inventions and Discoveries of the 19th Century by Michael Windelspecht
Call Number: Q125 .W79173 2003
Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2003
Laws and Models: science, engineering and technology by Carl W. Hall
Call Number: Q123 .H25 2000
Boca Raton: FL: CRC Press, 2000
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Call Number: Q123 .M15 2003
New York: McGraw-Hill, 2003
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Q124.97 .M43 2005
New York: Routledge, 2005
New Penguin Dictionary of Science
Call Number: Q123 .N49 2004
London: Penguin Books, 2004
The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science
Call Number: Q125 .O86 20035
Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2003
Oxford Dictionary of Science by Elizabeth A. Martin
Call Number: Q123 .C68 2010
Oxford, UK: Oxford University Press, 2010
Principles of Physical Science by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: Q158.5 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Principles of Scientific Research by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: Q126.9 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Principles of Sustainability by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: Sci Ref GE196 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Research and Discovery: landmarks and pioneers in American science
Call Number: Q127 .U6R45
Armonk, NY: Sharpe Reference, 2008
Science in the Ancient World: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Q124.95 .L39 2004
Santa Barbara, A: ABC-CLIO, 2004
Science in the Contemporary World: an encyclopedia
Call Number: Q121 .S94 2005
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005
Science in the Early Twentieth Century: an encyclopedia by Jacob Darwin Hamblin
Call Number: Q125 .H345 2005
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2005
Science in the Enlightenment by William E. Burns
Call Number: Q121 .B87 2003
Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2003
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia
Call Number: Q121 .V3 2008
Hoboken, NJ: John Wiley, 2008

Databases and E-Resources

American Mathematical Society Journals. This link opens in a new window
Full text access to subscribed journals
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library. Thousands of articles on biological sciences.
SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder Discovery Platform) This link opens in a new window
From CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. Reference, substance, reaction and supplier content. New: Formulations data, Analytical methods and Historical chemistry content. Also includes step-by-step procedures and protocols, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and more. NEW USERS CLICK HERE TO REGISTER FOR PERSONAL ACCOUNT. ACCESS DOES NOT WORK USING VPN. USERS MUST GO TO THE SCIFINDER DATABASE LINK ABOVE AND AUTHENTICATE INTO FORDHAM NETWORK USING FORDHAM UN AND PW. THEN FOLLOW PROMPTS TO LOGIN WITH PERSONAL SCIFINDER UN/PW.
Remote users see more notes below.
REMOTE USERS: Must do the following to access full text.
Full Text Dropdown > View all Sources > Under In House Resources, click on Find Full Text. If content doesn't appear in window, select a different source in the sidebar.

Science (General, Popular, and Applied): General Science Reference

Encyclopedias

Databases and E-Resources

Reference & Instruction Department