Research Guides @ Fordham: General, Popular and Applied Science: Home

Archimedes

The Why Files
Site examines the science behind the headlines. Covers such topics as autism, tar sands, and global warming. From the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
Popular Science
A magazine that covers science and technology. Fordham has access from 1984 to present through Gale's Science in Context database.
ScienceSeeker
This page tracks as many science blogs as possible with thorough indexing. Biology and physical science are most prevalent but all areas are included.
National Science Foundation
Vast resources of the NSF displaying publications, videos, new discoveries and many resources for those seeking federal funding for science research.
The Naked Scientists: science radio and science podcasts
BBC radio and podcasts aimed at promoting science to the general public in entertaining fashion. All areas are covered.
Cryptozoology
Offers extensive information about lake creatures, yetis and other "mythical" species.
NASA Image and Video Library
Vast archive of pictures, videos, and audio from the beginnings of NASA to the present day.

American Men and Women of Science This link opens in a new window
Brief biographies and bibliographies of living scientists.
Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography This link opens in a new window
Covers antiquity to the present.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Elsevier is the world's largest scientific publisher. Full-text access on selected titles.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library. Thousands of articles on biological sciences.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
Science (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
Science In Context references content from scientific encyclopedias integrated with current news, images and videos to highlight real-world issues.
ScienceDirect Open Access This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of free journals from Elsevier's ScienceDirect platform.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Expansive database of scientific disciplines, provides citation searching.

My Patients and Other Animals: a veterinarian's stories of love, loss, and hope by Suzanne Fincham-Gray
Call Number: SF613 .F528A3 2018
New York: Spiegel & Grau, 2018
Wild Horse Country: the history, myth, and future of the mustang by David Philipps
Call Number: SF293 .M9P45 2017
New York: W. W. Norton, 2017
A Hospitable Universe: addressing ethical and spiritual concerns in light of recent scientific discoveries by Rodolfo Gambini
Call Number: Q175.5 .G335 2018
La Vergne, TN: Imprint Academic, 2018
Principles of Physical Science by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: Q158.5 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Principles of Scientific Research by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: Q126.9 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Principles of Sustainability by Donald Franceschetti (Editor)
Call Number: GE196 .P75 2017
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2017
Forensic Science: 2nd edition by O'Reilly, Ayn Embar-Seddon
Call Number: HV8073 .F5776 2015
Ipswich, MA: Salem Press, 2015
Extreme Cities: the peril and promse of urban life in the age of climate change by Ashley Dawson
Call Number: QH541.5 .C6D38 2017
New York: Verso, 2017
Big Mind: howcollective intelligence can changeour world by Geoff Mulgan
Call Number: Q337.3 .M84 2018
Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2018

Contact:

Lincoln Center Campus
Quinn Library
Room 201
Vassar@fordham.edu

212-636-6052

Subjects: Library & Information Science

Gastropod
This podcast uses science and history to explain all the different foods we eat.
Probably Science
Comedy and science podcast from stand up comedians with some relevant education.
Radiolab
A podcast dedicated to exploring "a strange world."
Sawbones
A wife (who is a doctor) explains medicine and its history to her husband (who is not a doctor).
Science Vs
This podcast tackles "fads, trends, and the opinionated mob to find out what’s fact, what’s not, and what’s somewhere in between."
StarTalk Radio Show
"The StarTalk® podcast network bridges the intersection between science, pop culture and comedy with clarity, humor and passion."
This Podcast Will Kill You
Two graduate students, Erin and Erin, share their love of "epidemics and weird medical mysteries with the world."
Twenty Thousand Hertz
A podcast devoted to the mystery of sounds.