Use the resources on this page if you need to find:
Search through our streaming video databases to find science lab experiments, dissections, explanations of scientific concepts, documentaries, lectures, technology tutorials, and more.
PBS Videos have been removed. More than 70,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas and curated for the educational experience. Includes Dance, Music, Classical Performance, and Opera in Video. MUST STAY ON THE ACADEMIC VIDEO CHANNEL - DO NOT CLICK ON CHANNELS LINK. DO NOT EMBED LINKS OR CODE IN BLACKBOARD TO AVOID REMOTE AUTHENTICATION ISSUES. Rather, share the database-generated links via email, chat, or syllabi. What's New (and Some HIGHLIGHTS) in Academic Video Online...
Operated by The Leibniz Information Center for Science and Technology (TIB), an open access platform on which most scientific videos such as conference recordings, simulations, animations, lectures and visualized research data can be published and viewed free of charge.
Additional video resources:
Selected Science News Resources:
Information for free online access to the New York Times. Administered and supported by the Division of Student Affairs and the Parents Fund. Scroll down and click on "New Subscribers" to create a personal account.
Major U.S. and world news , legal and business sources. SEC filings, U.S. and State legal cases, Supreme Court decisions back to 1790, D&B and Hoover's Company Reports. Shephard's, Patents, and more. Features include alerts, saved searches, article summarizations, exportable charts, citation management tools, and collaborative workspace with share folders and annotated documents. Click on FIND A SOURCE or SOURCES to locate and access journals/newspapers.
Nexis+AI - Jumpstart your research by asking questions and retrieving summarized responses across 13K approved global news and business sources with hypertext links.
FOR BEST RESULTS: CREATE ACCOUNT (ONLY FROM ON CAMPUS) & LOG IN; TURN OFF POP UP BLOCKERS.
Selected Popular Science Magazines:
One of the easiest ways to find open source images is through an advanced Google search. Here are the steps:
1. Search for your topic in Google
2. Limit your search to "Images"
3. Select "Tools" to open up search tool limiters
4. Select the "Usage rights" drop-down menu that appears
5. To filter by open source images, select "Creative Commons licenses"
Search through our image databases to find historical collections and web archives of scientific study, experimentation, and scientists' biographical information.
Provides open access to over a million items digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs. Includes enhanced search options to view items by collection.
Additional image resources:
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)