Skip to Main Content

Religion & Theology: Finding Articles with Databases

Finding Secondary Source Articles

This page covers how to find scholarly articles in journals as well as articles from newspapers, magazines and other popular sources.

Searching for journal article on a specific topic? Use the Subscription Databases with (mostly) Full Text box to search across many journals.

Looking for a specific publication or a specific article from a citation? Use the directions in the Searching for a Periodical box.

Subscription Databases with (mostly) Full Text

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS
Produced by the American Theological Library Association via EBSCO, this database offers a global index of books, journal articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion with many links to full text. Includes all ATLASerials® (ATLAS®) and the ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index® (ATLA CPLI®).

Religion Database
ProQuest database with primarily full-text periodicals and other sources across a wide spectrum to support the global study of religion.

Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
Offers a comprehensive collection of periodical content covering topics across a wide range of philosophies, religions, and theological approaches to social issues.

JSTOR & ARTSTOR
Offers a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals as well as primary sources. Use the "Content I can access" setting under Access Type to view Fordham's subscription content. Ebooks are not included. JSTOR now includes content from ARTSTOR. Learn about JSTOR's new AI research tool.

NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.

Databases with Abstracts, Indexes, and Bibliographies

Index Religiosus - Brepols Religion Cluster
Includes two existing bibliographies: the bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclésiastique and the Elenchus Bibliographicus from the journal Ephemerides Theologicae Lovanienses.

Jesuit Online Bibliography
Searchable database of bibliographic records for scholarship in Jesuit Studies produced in the 21st century.

New Testament Abstracts
Abstracts of articles from thousands of journals, monographs, and reviews related to New Testament studies since 1985.

Old Testament Abstracts
Abstracts of articles from several hundreds journals, monographs, and software related to Old Testament studies. Coverage since 1978.

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Fordham's subscription covers specific bibliographies including Biblical Studies, Buddhism, and Islamic Studies.

RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
A selective bibliography from the various fields of Jewish Studies as well as Eretz Israel and the State of Israel. Updated daily.

Religious & Theological Abstracts

Provides summaries of articles appearing in scholarly journals in the fields of Religion and Theology.

Searching for Periodicals

A periodical is a publication published on a schedule like a journal, newspaper, or magazine.

Search for Electronic Subscriptions with the E-Journals Tab
Use the E-Journals tab to search for publications by name to check for library subscriptions. This tab also allows searching for articles with DOIs from citations.

Periodical Search across Print & Digital Holdings
Since Fordham owns some older periodicals in print, a Periodical search in the catalog will locate print & digital holdings.

Finding Religious News Sources

Ethnic NewsWatch
Database offering full text of American ethnic and religious community newspapers from 1959-present (varies by publication).

The Catholic News Archive
A free, fully searchable digital archive of Catholic newspapers. Includes access to The Catholic Worker (New York, NY) from 1933 - 2021.

America Magazine: The Jesuit Review of Faith & Culture
Subscription covers 1909 - present.

Commonweal
Access from 1988 - present.

National Catholic Reporter
Access from July 1991 - present.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)

Last Updated: Sep 23, 2025 9:58 AM
URL: https://fordham.libguides.com/ReligionAndTheology
Print Page

Subjects: Religion & Theology

Tags: buddhism, catholicism, christianity, hinduism, islam, judaism, religion, researchguideslist, theology