Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selecting & Saving Content From a Database
Fordham Libraries Databases
The Databases landing page organizes all Fordham Libraries' databases alphabetically and by subject. There is also a tab for the E-Book and E-Journal portal as well. Use the appropriate database to search for journal articles.
- Not all database are equal. Read the description of the database carefully. If you select a database and do not find content that you can use for your paper you may need to: try another database, revise your search terms; email your liaison librarian and ask for help.
- Use the Keyword Worksheet in the library handouts to help you think critically about the words you have selected to search. Look for alternate keywords in the text of your assigned readings. Look for subject headings in the article records in the database.
- Be aware of bias in sources and language; make sure that you address bias in your paper.
- Do not use your browser url address bar to save a document. Look for a permalink or persistent url within the database, or use the save, email, or export options.
Not finding the information you need?
Chat live with a librarian to get some help.
Search Tips and Training
- Use the Advanced Search
- Check to see if the database has a Thesaurus or Index, and consider using it
- Enter each separate keyword concept in a different box
- Select the Boolean/Phrase radio button
- Use an asterisk * at the end of a word to get variant endings : child* yields child and children
- Use quotation marks to search for a phrase, two adjacent words in the same order : "cookie monster"
- Consider using the medium or industry as a subject, or look for a database designed specifically for research in that medium or industry (film, television, news)
- Consider limiting by date, and using theories, concepts, technologies, geographies, demographics, and regulations as keywords
- Consider Source Type: Advertisements, Trade Publications, Magazines, Newspapers, Scholarly Journals, Books
Boolean Modifier Video
Video tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers" from McMaster Libraries
Boolean Operators Video
Video Tutorial "How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators" from McMaster Libraries
Database Search Tips
Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries covers Boolean search operators, truncation, keyword vs. subjects, fields, phrases and stop words.
Fordham Library Tutorial
Specific to the Fordham Library, this tutorial covers both catalog and database searching, evaluating library resources, and an overview of selected library services.
Access Help - Tech Problems
Use this link to find self-help tips for resolving common problems. This link will also provide information about known issues with our electronic resources, and will provide contact information for Fordham IT Customer Care, and our Fordham Libraries Electronic Resources librarians.
There are many ways to get help, here are just a few:
- Use the Ask a Librarian service to chat live with a librarian. Find the box to connect to this service on this page.
- Find the Library Liaison for your discipline, subject, topic, or program and email them to ask for help.
- Look for the Research Guide that most closely matches your discipline, program, or topic area to learn about recommended resources and search techniques.
- Check the selection of Library Handouts to see if any of the topics fit your needs.
- Look for HELP options in databases and/or electronic resources to find recommended tips and search techniques.
- Look for the following items within databases to improve or expand your search: subject headings, keywords lists, a database thesaurus, an index, or clues within cited sources in a particular book or article.
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
email@example.com ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)