Research Guides @ Fordham: Music : Databases

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A very comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database with periodicals in many subject areas including music.
Fine Arts (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and film-making. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times (1851-2008)
International Index to Music Periodicals
Provides access to articles published in many international music journals every year. Coverage is from 1993 to the present.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (International Index to Performing Arts) This link opens in a new window
The IIPA draws its content from periodicals from 9 countries and also indexes performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Coverage is from 1964 to the present. Records from 1998 forward contain an abstract.
JSTOR (EXPANDED COLLECTIONS) This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of academic journals in full text from volume 1, number 1 in many disciplines including music.
Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 700 full-length Met performances. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
Music and Dance Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Almost 60,000 recordings of songs from America's past, including African-American songs; from the Alexander Street Press.
Music and Dance Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable classical music resource containing many recordings for free listening plus textual reference material. The scores of many pieces of music found in Classical Music library are found in Classical Scores Library as well so that you may listen to the music while following along with the score. From the Alexander Street Press. Click on icon next to titles on browse screen to send it to your mobile device.
Music and Dance Online: Classical Scores Library, Volumes 1 - 4 This link opens in a new window
Scores of nearly 25,000 pieces of music, many of which are recorded in Classical Music Library so that you may listen to the music while following along with the full score. From the Alexander Street Press.
Music and Dance Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
Contains almost 16,000 albums that deliver the music of all regions from every continent. From the Alexander Street Press.
Music and Dance Online: Jazz Music Library This link opens in a new window
Thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. From Alexander Street Press.
Music and Dance Online: Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
Recordings of all kinds of music from all over the world. From the Alexander Street Press.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 500,000 tracks of classical music, jazz, folk, blues, pop, and Chinese music.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
The leading online resource when doing research in music. It contains the Grove Music Online resources. Includes the online 10-vol. The Encyclopedia of Popular Music, 4th ed., which covers popular music of all genres and periods from 1900 to present day including jazz, country, folk, rap, reggae, techno, musicals, and world music. Please log out when finished; access limited to 5 users.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of journals and newspapers, both scholarly and popular, often providing full-text and graphics on a variety of topics including music. Coverage is from the mid-1980s to the present.
Readers' Guide Full Text Mega This link opens in a new window
Includes indexing of over 450 periodicals as far back as 1983 and searchable full text articles from over 250 journals as far back as 1994. Encompasses multidisciplinary subjects including popular and classical music.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines. Dating from 1967 to present, it offers abstracts and citations of sources published in over 140 languages. Updated monthly. Limited number of links to full texts of journal articles are provided.

Rolling Stone Magazine
Rolling Stone magazine is indexed in EBSCOhost with full-text from 1990-present. A music lover's magazine featuring rock & roll, national affairs, feature stories, reviews, and music charts. Find out about your favorite groups. Look for the December 9, 2004 cover story and special collector's issue of "The 500 Greatest Songs of All Time" (issue number 963).

Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Proquest platform enabling the ability to cross-search American Film Institute Catalog (AFI), Film Index International (FII) and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals database.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Library of Congress Sub-Divisions for Music

The Library of Congress uses chronological subdivisions to analyze many topics.

"Different types of music have their own sets of subdivisions.
"Chamber music starts with one nine-hundred-year span, --500-1400, then moves on with centuries, from --15th century through --21 century.
"Jazz, on the other hand, uses divisions by decade, starting with --1910-1920 and ending, for now, at --2001-2010. Do not assume, having seen these jazz subdivisions, that decade breakdowns apply elsewhere.
"Many topics have one-hundred-year breakdowns and nothing shorter. These, by the way, are presented as digits. It's --18th century and not eighteenth century."

From the book Magic search: getting the best results from your catalog and beyond/Kornegay, R.S. (2009). Chicago: American Library Association.

Available in the Reference Area of the Fordham Westchester Library, call number REF Z695.Z8 L523 2009.

Open Access Music Database

Open Music Library
Freely accessible music database on the Web.

Fordham Library Catalog

Search catalog for books, ebooks, periodicals, government documents, videos, maps etc. held by Fordham at all campuses.

Finding Full Text Articles From Individual Journals

Go to the Fordham Library Catalog and type the name of the journal or magazine in the "Periodical title" search bar.
Print journals and periodicals in the stacks at the Walsh and Quinn Libraries have call numbers. Select full text as a limiter when database searching.

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Document Delivery

Document Delivery Service

The Document Delivery Service allows Fordham University faculty and graduate students to obtain email delivery of journal articles not available electronically through the Fordham databases but which are available in print in the library.

This service was established to allow faculty, and now students, to request and receive research materials with proper copyright clearance via their Fordham email accounts.

Music : Databases