Research Guides @ Fordham: Music : Begin Here

Introduction

This guide will direct you to resources in music at Fordham University Libraries.
Click on the tabs at the top to find books, articles, and links to web content.
Most of the Databases are indexes to articles in journals.
Please contact the library if you need assistance. We are happy to help!

International Index to Music Periodicals
Index to hundreds of music journals with full text of many articles.
Met Opera on Demand
Access to more than 700 full-length Met performances. Limited to 5 Simultaneous Users.
Naxos Music Library
New version includes over 600 videos of masterclasses, lessons, and artist interviews along with over two million tracks of classical music, jazz, folk, new age, gospel, blues, and Chinese music. Please click log-out button when finished, 10 simultaneous users limit.
Oxford Music Online
Resources for music research including Grove Music Online. Please log out when finished; access limited to 5 users.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature - Access Ends 7/31/25
An international bibliography of scholarly writings on music and related disciplines dating from 1967 to present, it offers abstracts of sources published in many languages. Updated monthly. Remote access available through NYPL. Click here for information on how to access NYPL resources online.

The Billboard Illustrated Encyclopedia of Music by Paul DuNoyer
Call Number: REF ML100.B395 2003 (RH LC)

New York, NY: Billboard Books, 2003.
Located in Reference Area.
Continuum Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World by John Shepherd (Ed.)
Call Number: REF ML102.P66 C66 2003 (2 vols.) (LC)

New York, NY: Continuum, 2003.
Located in Reference Area.
Encyclopedia of African American Music by Emmett G. Price (Ed.); Tammy Kernodle (Ed.); Horace Maxille (Ed.)
Call Number: REF ML101.U6 E53 2011 (3 vols.) RH

Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
Located in Reference Area.
Icons of Hip Hop: An Encyclopedia of the Movement, Music, and Culture by Mickey Hess (Ed.)
Call Number: REF ML394.I26 2007 (2 vols.) (RH)

Westport, CT: Greenwood, 2007.
Located in Reference Area.

Baroque Music: A Research and Information Guide by John H. Baron
Call Number: ML116.B37 1993 (RH)

New York, NY: Garland, 1993.
Music in Canada: A Research and Information Guide by Carl Morey
Call Number: ML120.C2 M67 1997 (RH)

New York, NY: Garland, 1997.
Music Research: A Handbook by Laurie J. Sampsel
Call Number: ML113.S28 2013 (RH)

New York, NY: Oxford UP, 2013.
2nd edition.
Popular Music Theory and Analysis: A Research and Information Guide by Thomas Robinson
Call Number: E-book

New York, NY: Routledge, 2017.
The Recorder: A Guide to Writings About the Instrument for Players and Researchers by Richard Griscom
Call Number: ML128.R31 G75 1994 (RH)

New York, NY: Garland, 1994.
The Symphony: A Research and Information Guide by Preston Stedman
Call Number: ML128.S9 S7 1990 (RH)

New York, NY: Garland, 1990.
Tudor Music: A Research and Information Guide: with an Appendix Updating William Byrd, A Guide to Research by Richard Turbet
Call Number: ML114.T887 1994 (RH)

New York, NY: Garland, 1994.
Global Jazz by Clarence Bernard Henry
Call Number: E-book

New York, NY : Routledge, Taylor and Francis Group, 2022.