Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Public Health Resources

General Public Health

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

Encyclopedia of Health Communication by Teresa (Teri) L. Thompson (Editor)
Call Number: RA423 .E528 2014
Los Angeles, CA: Sage, 2014.
.
Slee's Health Care Terms: 5th ed by Debora A. Slee
Call Number: RA423 .S55 2008
Boston, MA: Jones & Bartlett, 2008.
Macmillan Health Encyclopedia: Rev ed.
Call Number: RA776 .M174 1999
New York, NY: Macmillan Reference USA, 1999.
Evidence-Based Public Health by Ross C. Brownson
Call Number: RA427.B76 2018
New York, NY: Oxford UP, 2018.
3rd edition
Gale Encyclopedia of Public Health
Online Resource
Detroit [Michigan] : Gale, Cengage Learning, 2013

Atlases, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

World of Microbiology and Immunology by K. Lee Lerner
Call Number: QR9 .W675 2003
Online Resource
Detroit : Gale, 2003
Kuby Immunology by Judy Owen; Jenni Punt; Sharon Stranford
Call Number: QR181 .K83 2013
New York : W.H. Freeman and Company, 2013
Encyclopedia of Epidemiology by Sarah E. Boslaugh (Editor)
Call Number: RA652 .E533 2008
Online Resource
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, 2008
The Encyclopedia of Infectious Diseases by Carol Turkington; Bonnie Lee Ashby
Call Number: RC112 .T87 2007
New York : Facts On File, 2007

Popular Books on Medical Microbiology

The Beautiful Cure: the revolution in immunology and what it means for your health by Daniel M. Davis
Online Resource
Chicago : University of Chicago Press. 2018
Superbugs by William Hall
Online Resource
Cambridge, MA : Harvard University Press, 2018
The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
Call Number: RC133.G6 J64 2006
New York : Riverhead Books, 2006

Societies and Online Resources

Center for Disease Control
The leading national public health institute of the United States. The CDC is a United States federal agency under the Department of Health and Human Services and is headquartered in Atlanta, Georgia.
World Health Organization
Working with 194 Member States, across six regions, and from more than 150 offices, WHO staff work to bring better health to people around the world.
Center for Complex Infectious Diseases
The primary mission of CCID is to determine the nature, origin, disease associations, modes of transmission, methods of diagnosis and responses to therapy of complex infectious diseases, and to disseminate such information. CCID is currently specializing in the detection and characterization of viruses which have undergone a "stealth" adaptation to avoid elimination by the immune system.
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
Founded in 1973, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to educating the public and healthcare professionals about the burden, causes, prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of infectious diseases across the lifespan.

National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Public Health topics:

RA1-1270 Public aspects of medicine

RA1-418.5 - Medicine and the state
RA421-790.95 - Public health. Hygiene. Preventive medicine
- RA428-428.5 - Public health laboratories, institutes, etc.
- RA440-440.87 - Study and teaching. Research
- RA565-600 - Environmental health; Including sewage disposal, air pollution, nuisances, water supply
- RA601-602 - Food and food supply in relation to public health
- RA604-618 - Parks, public baths, public carriers, buildings, etc.
- RA619-637 - Disposal of the dead. Undertaking. Burial. Cremation.
- RA638- Immunity and immunization in relation to public health
- RA639-642 - Transmission of disease
- RA643-645 - Disease (Communicable and noninfectious) and public health
- RA645.3-645.37 - Home health care services
- RA645.5-645.9 - Emergency medical services
- RA646-648.3 - War and public health
- RA648.5-767 - Epidemics. Epidemiology. Quarantine. Disinfection
- RA771-771.7 - Rural health and hygiene. Rural health services
- RA773-788 - Personal health and hygiene
- RA790-790.95 - Mental health. Mental illness prevention
RA791-954 - Medical geography. Climatology. Meteorology
RA960-1000.5 - Medical centers. Hospitals. Dispensaries. Clinics; Including ambulance service, nursing homes, hospices
RA1001-1171 - Forensic medicine. Medical jurisprudence. Legal medicine
RA1190-1270 - Toxicology. Poisons

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

Proctor and Hughes' Chemical Hazards of the Workplace: 4th ed by Gloria J. Hathaway
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1215 .P76 1996
New York, NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1996.
Cooper's Toxic Exposures Desk Reference by Andre R. Cooper
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1215 .C66 1997
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Lewis, 1997.
Rapid Guide to Hazardous Chemicals in the Environment by Richard P. Pohanish
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1226 .P64 1997
New York, NY: Van Nostrand Reinhold, 1997.
Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals by Marshall Sittig
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1193 .S58
Park Ridge, NJ: Noyes Publications, 1981.
Information Resources in Toxicology: 3rd ed
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1193.3 .I54 2000
San Diego, CA: Academic Press, 2000.
Medical Toxicology: Diagnosis and Treatment of Human Poisoning by Matthew J. Ellenhorn
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA1224.5 .E45 1988
New York: Elsevier, 1988

Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Reference Books

Environmental Health and Science Desk Reference by Frank R. Spellman
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA565 .S64 2012
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2012.
Illustrated Dictionary and Resource Directory of Environmental and Occupational Health: 2nd ed by Herman Koren
Call Number: (RH Sci Ref) RA566 .K59 2005
Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press, 2005.
Gale Encyclopedia of Environmental Health by Jacqueline Longe
Online Resource
Farmington Hills, Michigan : Gale, a Cengage Company, 2019