Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Databases

Medicine Databases

American Hospital Directory
Profiles of over 6,000 hospitals including key characteristics, utilization, and financial information. Must be accessed in the library. Please ask a Reference Librarian to log in for you. Operating Trends, Profile Compare, and System Compare options are not available.
BioMed Central BMC
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic.
Health Source: Nursing (Academic Edition)
Full text and abstracts for health journals focusing on many medical topics, especially nursing and drugs.
JAMA
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.
medRxiv
Free online archive and distribution server for complete but unpublished manuscripts (preprints) in the medical, clinical, and related health sciences.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
A resource providing access to biomedical and genomic information created by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
National Center for Health Statistics
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.
New England Journal of Medicine (NEJM)
Access to all content dated 1990 to present. Includes key multimedia features invaluable to all health and service programs such as Videos in Clinical Medicine, Interactive Medical Cases and Quick Take Videos.
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database
Books and journals, some full text, from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration. Includes hundreds of doctoral dissertations on health subjects.
PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS)
A bibliographic database covering literature on traumatic stress sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health traumatic events.
PubMed/MEDLINE
Over 27 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, online books, and other resources. MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed. Citations may include links to full-text content in PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE Citations are included in OneSearch. For more information, see NIH Resources Guide.
PubMed Central
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Thieme Open Access Journals
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles. Make sure the Open Access filter remains selected. Chrome browser recommended.

Search Tips and Training

General Search Tips

Use keywords or phrases, not sentences, and put any phrases you want to keep together in quotation marks.
Use Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) to separate your keywords and phrases.
Use an asterisk (*) at the end of word roots to truncate your words and get varied endings (e.g., biolog* would yield biology, biologists, biological)
Limit your results by date, source type, journal, or other applicable filters.

Controlled Vocabularies and Database-Specific Tips

Many library databases use their own indices or thesauri to create a controlled vocabulary for searching. Controlled vocabularies are the specific terms used to organize materials in a particular database. To get the best search results possible from a science database, you may need to use a mixture of your natural language and the correct controlled vocabulary.

Medical Subject Headings (MeSH)

MeSH terms are indexed in PubMed. See these tutorials and guides for information on how to use MeSH.

PubMed User Guide
An FAQ page on how to search within PubMed.
Learn About Medical Subject Headings (MESH)
Tutorials on how to use Medical Subject Headings, a controlled vocabulary, to improve your searching in PubMed.

Scopus

See these tutorials and guides for information on how to search within Scopus.

Scopus Research Guide
Comprehensive research guide explaining the database's content, how to search within, its metrics, and more.
Searching Scopus
Comprehensive information on how to search within Scopus for documents. Includes guidance on how to analyze and export your results.

General Science Databases

Annual Reviews
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences. No access to Economics and Computer Science titles.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals
Full text of subscribed journals and four collections - Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Econometrics, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
Nature Journal
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
Science Database
On ProQuest's platform. A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Provides access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements vital to scientific and technical literature.
Scopus
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Wiley Online Library - All Journals Database
Access to most Wiley Journals, from 1996/1997 to Present. Click on the journal title for specific years of access. Email parliman@fordham.edu for TDM information.

Online Medicine Resources

Merck Manual - Consumer Version
Treatments for thousands of diseases and conditions. Contains photographs, audio and video material.
MedWatch: the FDA Safety Information Program
The FDA's regulatory site. Product safety information for consumers and medical professionals.
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's consumer health database.
UpToDate Mobile App
Fordham does not subscribe. Includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs, drug-to-drug interactions, and medical calculators. It requires a subscription for full access.
National Institutes of Health
The NIH has information for researchers and the general public about health resources, clinical trials, health news, and more.
Center for Disease Control
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services, contains health and disease outbreak information.
Yale University Open Data Access (YODA) Project
The YODA Project serves to share clinical research data and open science to improve research transparency.

Finding Clinical Trials

ClinicalTrials.gov
A resource that provides researchers with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. Maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Trials Today
From Research Match, an alternative way to search through clinical trial information published through the NIH based on answering a series of questions. Includes volunteer information.
CenterWatch
A research hub for researchers and clinical trial volunteers to share information on current administered trials, how to run efficient trials, and connecting researchers with each other to share ideas.