Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Cancer, Genetic Diseases, & Gene Regulation

Selected Journals on Cancer and Genetic Diseases

Selected Cancer Journals

Cancer
Cancer publishes interdisciplinary oncologic information according to, but not limited to, the following disease sites and disciplines: blood/bone marrow; breast disease; endocrine disorders; epidemiology; gastrointestinal tract; genitourinary disease; gynecologic oncology; head and neck disease; hepatobiliary tract; integrated medicine.
Years available: 1948 - Present
Cancer Cell
Cancer Cell publishes reports of novel results in any area of cancer research, from molecular and cellular biology to clinical oncology. In addition, Cancer Cell publishes findings in cancer research, diagnosis and treatment.
Years available: 1995 - 1 year ago
Clinical Cancer Research
Clinical Cancer Research, is a journal of the American Association for Cancer Research whose focus is to publish innovative clinical and translational cancer research studies that bridge the laboratory and the clinic.
Years available: 1995 - Present
Journal of the National Cancer Institute
The Journal of the National Cancer Institute publishes peer-reviewed original research from around the world and is internationally acclaimed as the source for the most up-to-date news and information from the rapidly changing fields of cancer research and treatment.
Years available: 1996 - Present
Nature Reviews - Cancer
The journal publishes Research Highlights, Comments, Reviews and Perspectives relevant to cancer researchers, with our broad scope ensuring that the articles we publish reach the widest possible audience.
Years available: 2001 - 1 year ago

Selected Clinical Genetics Journals

American Journal of Human Genetics
The American Journal of Human Genetics is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal in the field of human genetics.
Years available; 1949 - 6 months ago
Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics
The Annual Review of Genomics and Human Genetics, in publication since 2000, covers significant developments in the field of genomics as they apply to human genetics and the human genome
Years available: 2000 - Present
Genome Research
Launched in 1995, Genome Research is an international, continuously published, peer-reviewed journal that focuses on research that provides novel insights into the genome biology of all organisms, including advances in genomic medicine.
Years available: 1995 - Present
Nature Reviews Genetics
Nature Reviews Genetics covers the full scientific breadth of modern genetics, capturing its excitement, diversity and implications.
Years available: 2000 - 1 year ago
PLoS Genetics
PLoS Genetics reflects the full breadth and interdisciplinary nature of this research by publishing outstanding original contributions in all areas of biology. PLoS Genetics publishes human studies, as well as research on model organisms—from mice and flies, to plants and bacteria.
Years available: 2005 - Present

Societies, Institutes, and Other Online Resources

Societies and Institutes

American Cancer Society
The American Cancer Society is a nationwide voluntary health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer.
American Society of Gene & Cell Therapy
American Society of Gene & Cell Therapy is a professional non-profit medical and scientific organization based in Milwaukee, dedicated to understanding, development and application of gene, related cell and nucleic acid therapies, as well as promotion of professional and public education on gene therapy.
National Cancer Institute
The National Cancer Institute (NCI) is the U.S. federal government's principal agency for cancer research and training.
Cancer Research Institute
The Cancer Research Institute (CRI) is a US non-profit organization funding cancer research and based in New York City. They are a funding body for research rather than a research institute themselves, working with other institutes and organizations.

Online Resources

CDC - Cancer
The Center for Disease Control's compilation of resources for preventing and treating cancer, as well as national statistics on cancer.
CDC - Genomics & Precision Health
The Center for Disease Control's home for genomic health topics and precision health.
World Cancer Research Fund
World Cancer Research Fund International is a not-for-profit association related to cancer prevention research related to diet, weight and physical activity.
National Cancer Research Fund
National Foundation for Cancer Research (NFCR) is an American nonprofit organization founded in 1973. It provides funds to cancer scientists and researchers, with the ultimate goal of a cure for cancer.

Reference Books on Cancer and Genetic Diseases

Cancer Reference Books

The Washington Manual of Oncology by Daniel Morgensztern (Editor); Ramaswamy Govindan
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer Health, 2015
Oxford American Handbook of Oncology by Gary H. Lyman (Editor); Donald Bissett (Editor); Jim Cassidy (Editor); Miranda Payne (Editor); Roy A. J. Spence (Editor)
Online Resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009
Encyclopedia of Cancer and Society by Graham A. Colditz (Editor)
Online Resource
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, 2007
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer by Kristin Fust (Editor)
Online Resource
Farmington Hills, Michigan : Gale, 2015

Genetic Diseases and Disorders Reference Books

Signs and Symptoms of Genetic Conditions by Louanne Hudgins (Editor); Helga V. Toriello (Editor); Gregory M. Enns (Editor); H. Eugene Hoyme (Editor)
Online Resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2014
The Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders by Tracie Moy
Online Resource
Farmington Hills, Mich. : Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016
Encyclopedia of the Human Genome by David N. Cooper
Online Resource
Chichester [Eng.] : Wiley, 2005

Popular Books on Cancer, Genetic Disease, and Gene Regulation

The First Cell: And the Human Costs of Pursuing Cancer to the Last by Azra Raza
Call Number: RC263 .R365 2019
Publication Date: 2019-10-15
New York : Basic Books, 2019
The Emperor of All Maladies by Siddhartha Mukherjee
Call Number: RC275 .M85 2010
New York : Scribner, 2010
The End of Genetics by David B. Goldstein
Online Resource
New Haven, CT : Yale University Press, 2022

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Cancer, Genetic Diseases, & Gene Regulation

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Cancer and Genetic Diseases topics:

R - Medicine

RC31-1245 - Internal medicine
- RC254-282 - Neoplasms. Tumors. Oncology - Including cancer and carcinogens
RD1-811 - Surgery
- RD651-678 - Neoplasms. Tumors. Oncology
RM1-950 - Therapeutics. Pharmacology
- RM260-263 - Chemotherapy