Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Internal Medicine Resources

General Internal Medicine

General Internal Medicine Consult by Thomas Ciesielski
Online Resource
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer, 2017
Harrison's Manual of Medicine by Dennis L. Kasper; Tinsley Randolph Harrison
Online Resource
New York : McGraw-Hill Medical Pub. Division, 2005
Oxford American Handbook of Clinical Medicine by John A. Flynn (Editor); Michael J. Choi (Editor); L. Dwight Wooster (Editor)
Online Resource
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013

Selected Journals

The Journal of General Internal Medicine
The Journal of General Internal Medicine is the official journal of the Society of General Internal Medicine. It promotes improved patient care, research, and education in primary care, general internal medicine, and hospital medicine.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Journal of Internal Medicine
Journal of Internal Medicine (JIM), with its International Advisory Board, ublishes original clinical work within the broad field of general and internal medicine and its sub-specialties. It features original articles, reviews, and case reports.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Annals of Internal Medicine
This journal publishes a wide variety of original research, review articles, practice guidelines, and commentary relevant to clinical practice, health care delivery, public health, health care policy, medical education, ethics, and research methodology. In addition, the journal publishes personal narratives that convey the art of medicine.
Years available: 2002 - 2006

Societies and Online Resources

American College of Physicians
ACP is a national organization of internists, the largest medical-specialty organization, and second-largest physician group in the United States. Our 159,000 members include internists, internal medicine subspecialists, medical students, residents, and fellows.
American Medical Association - Internal Medicine
Overview of internal medicine guidelines from the American Medical Association.
Society of General Internal Medicine
The Society of General Internal Medicine is a member-based internal medical association of over 3,300 of the world’s leading academic general internists, who are dedicated to improving the access to care for all populations, eliminating healthcare disparities and enhancing medical education.

Cardiology

Oxford Handbook of Cardiology by Punit Ramrakha (Editor); Jonathan Hill (Editor)
Online Resource
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2012
NIC Handbook of Interventional Cardiology by Praveen Chandra (Editor); Rishi Sethi (Editor); Balram Bhargava (Editor); Rakesh Yadav (Editor)
Online Resource
New Delhi : Jaypee Brothers Medical Publishers, 2015

Selected Journals

Journal of the American College of Cardiology
The official journal of the American College of Cardiology, JACC publishes original peer-reviewed clinical and experimental reports on all aspects of cardiovascular disease. Topics covered include coronary artery and valve disease, congenital heart defects, vascular surgery, cardiomyopathy, drug treatment, new diagnostic techniques, findings from the laboratory, and large multicenter studies of new therapies.
Years available: 1983 - 2023
European Heart Journal
The European Heart Journal is an international, English language, peer-reviewed journal dealing with Cardiovascular Medicine. It is an official Journal of the European Society of Cardiology and is published twice monthly.
Years available: 2009 - 2014
Nature Reviews Cardiology
Nature Reviews" clinical content is written by internationally clinical academics and researchers and targeted towards readers in the medical sciences, from postgraduate level upwards. In-depth Reviews present authoritative, up-to-date information on a topic, placing it in the context of a field"s history and development.
Years available: 2009 - 2021

Societies and Online Resources

American Heart Association
AHA is the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. A shared focus on cardiovascular health unites our more than 33 million volunteers and supporters as well as our more than 3,400 employees.
American College of Cardiology
The American College of Cardiology (ACC), based in Washington, D.C., is a nonprofit medical association which bestows credentials upon cardiovascular specialists who meet its qualifications. Education is a core component of the college, which is also active in the formulation of health policy and the support of cardiovascular research.
Heart Failure Society of America
The Heart Failure Society of America is an American organization of heart failure experts who have an interest in heart function and heart failure. Founded in 1995, it provides a forum for experts and patients with the aim of reducing the burden of heart failure.

Endocrinology

The Encyclopedia of Diabetes by William A. Petit; Christine A. Adamec
Call Number: RC660 .P424 2011
New York : Facts On File, 2011
Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes by John Wass (Editor); Helen Turner
Online Resource
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2009
Case Discussions in Endocrinology by Mustafa Sahin (Editor); Demet Çorapçioğlu (Editor); Nilgün Başkal (Editor); Ali Riza Uysal (Editor); A. Vedia Tonyukuk Gedik (Editor); Murat Faik Erdoğan (Editor); Sevim Güllü (Editor); Rifat Emral (Editor)
New York : Nova biomedical, 2017

Selected Journals

American Journal of Physiology - Endocrinology and Metabolism
The American Journal of Physiology - Endocrinology and Metabolism publishes original, mechanistic studies on the physiology of endocrine and metabolic systems.
Years available: 1998 - Present
Clinical Endocrinology
Clinical Endocrinology publishes papers and reviews which focus on the clinical aspects of endocrinology, including the clinical application of molecular endocrinology. It features reviews, original papers, commentaries, cases of the month, book reviews and letters to the editor.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Diabetes
Diabetes publishes original research about the physiology and pathophysiology of diabetes mellitus. Submitted manuscripts can report any aspect of laboratory, animal, or human research.
Years available: 1989 - 1 year ago
Diabetes Care
Diabetes Care is a journal for the health care practitioner that is intended to increase knowledge, stimulate research, and promote better management of people with diabetes. Topics covered are of interest to clinically oriented physicians, researchers, epidemiologists, psychologists, diabetes educators, and other health professionals.
Years available: 1996 - 2014

Societies and Online Resources

American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists
AACE is a professional community of physicians specializing in endocrinology, diabetes, and metabolism.
Endocrine Society
The Endocrine Society is a professional, international medical organization in the field of endocrinology and metabolism, founded in 1916. . It is a leading organization in the field and publishes four leading journals.
Society for Endocrinology
The Society for Endocrinology is an international membership organisation and registered charity representing scientists, clinicians and nurses who work with hormones.

Critical Care Medicine

Critical Care Handbook of the Massachusetts General Hospital by Jeanine P. Wiener-Kronish
Online Resource
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer, 2016
Quick Reference to Critical Care by Nancy Diepenbrock
Online Resource
Philadelphia : Wolters Kluwer, 2016
Emergency Department Critical Care by Donald M. Yealy; Clifton Callaway
Online Resource
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013

Selected Journals

Critical Care
Critical Care is a high quality, peer-reviewed, international clinical medical journal. The journal publishes commentaries, reviews, and research in all areas of intensive care and emergency medicine.
Years available: 1997 - Present
Intensive Care Medicine
The journal Intensive Care Medicine provides a medium for the communication and exchange of current work and ideas in this field. It is intended for all involved in intensive medical care, physicians, anaesthetists, surgeons, pediatricians, and all concerned with the pre-clinical subjects and medical sciences basic to these disciplines.
Years available: 1997 - Present

Societies and Online Resources

American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
AACN, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit association, is more than the world’s largest specialty nursing organization – we are an exceptional community of acute and critical care nurses offering unwavering professional and personal support in pursuit of the best possible patient care.
Critical Care Societies Collaborative
The CCSC leverages its collective and multi-professional expertise through communication, education, research, and advocacy efforts. The CCSC speaks with a unified voice representing nearly 200,000 critical care professionals to bring important issues to the forefront in public policy and in the healthcare arena.
Society of Critical Care Medicine
The Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) is the largest non-profit medical organization dedicated to promoting excellence and consistency in the practice of critical care. With members in more than 100 countries, SCCM is the only organization that represents all professional components of the critical care team.

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Internal Medicine

Library of Congress Call Numbers for Internal Medicine topics:

RC31-1254 - Internal Medicine

RC49-52 - Psychosomatic medicine
RC71-78.7 - Examination. Diagnosis
RC81-82 - Popular medicine
RC86-88.9 - Medical emergencies. Critical care. Intensive care. First aid
RC91-103 - Disease due to physical and chemical agents
RC109-216 - Infectious and parasitic diseases
RC251 - Constitutional diseases (General)
RC254-282 - Neoplasms. Tumors. Oncology
RC306-320.5 - Tuberculosis
RC321-571 - Neurosciences. Biological psychiatry. Neuropsychiatry
RC581-951 - Specialties of internal medicine
- RC581-607 - Immunologic diseases. Allergy
- RC620-627 - Nutritional diseases. Deficiency diseases
- RC627.5-632 - Metabolic diseases
- RC633-647.5 - Diseases of the blood and blood-forming organs
- RC648-665 - Diseases of the endocrine glands. Clinical endocrinology
- RC666-701 - Diseases of the circulatory (Cardiovascular) system
- RC705-779 - Diseases of the respiratory system
- RC799-869 - Diseases of the digestive system. Gastroenterology
- RC870-923 - Diseases of the genitourinary system. Urology
- RC924-924.5 - Diseases of the connective tissues
- RC925-935 - Diseases of the musculoskeletal system
RC952-1245 - Special situations and conditions
- RC952-954.6 - Geriatrics
- RC955-962 - Arctic medicine. Tropical medicine
- RC963-969 - Industrial medicine. Industrial hygiene
- RC970-986 - Military medicine. Naval medicine
- RC1000-1020 - Submarine medicine
- RC1030-1160 - Transportation medicine
- RC1200-1245 - Sports medicine

Popular Books on Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine: A Doctor's Stories by Terrence Holt
Call Number: R705 .H65 2014 [RH Stacks]
New York, N.Y. : Liveright Publishing Corporation, 2014
The Tell-Tale Brain by V. S. Ramachandran
Call Number: RC351 .R25 2011 [LC Stacks]
New York : W.W. Norton, 2011
How Doctors Think by Jerome Groopman
Call Number: R723.5 .G75 2007 [RH Stacks]
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007
Do No Harm by Henry Marsh
Call Number: RD592.8 .M37 2015 [RH Stacks]
New York : Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin's Press, 2015
Bellevue by David Oshinsky
Call Number: RA982.N52 B45 2016 [LC Stacks]
New York : Doubleday, 2016

Allergies/Immunology

Illustrated Dictionary of Immunology by Robert E. Lewis; Julius M. Cruse
Publication Date: QR180.4 .C78 2009
Boca Raton : CRC Press, 2009
The Encyclopedia of Allergies by Myron A. Lipkowitz; Tova Navarra
Call Number: RC585 .N38 2001
New York, N.Y. : Facts On File, 2001

Selected Journals

Immunity
Immunity is a monthly journal which publishes research articles and reviews of general interest in the entire discipline of immunology. The journal covers a breadth of interest extending beyond the formal definition of immunology, and into all systems that contribute to, or interact with, the immune system of the organism.
Years available: 1995 - Present
Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology
The Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology publishes high-impact, cutting-edge clinical and translational research papers for allergists, immunologists, dermatologists, gastroenterologists, and other physicians and researchers interested in allergic diseases and clinical immunology.
Years available: 1998 - 2 months ago

Societies and Online Resources

American Association of Immunologists
The American Association of Immunologists is an association of professionally trained scientists from all over the world dedicated to advancing the knowledge of immunology and its related disciplines, fostering the interchange of ideas and information among investigators, and addressing the potential integration of immunologic principles into clinical practice.
Clinical Immunology Society
The mission of the Clinical Immunology Society (CIS) is to facilitate education, translational research and novel approaches to therapy in clinical immunology to promote excellence in the care of patients with immunologic/inflammatory disorders.
Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies
The Federation of Clinical Immunology Societies is a key forum where opinion leaders come together to chart the path to the next major breakthrough in disease therapy. It consists of 65 societies.

Rheumatology

Oxford American Handbook of Rheumatology by Philip Seo; Alan Hakim; Gavin Clunie
Online Resource
Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2013
The Rheumatology Handbook by Margaret Callan
Online Resource
London : Imperial College Press, 2012
Rheumatolgy by Michael Doherty (Editor)
Oxford : Clinical Publishing Services, 2010

Selected Journals

Arthritis Research and Therapyopen access
Arthritis Research & Therapy is an international, peer-reviewed online journal, publishing original research, reviews, commentaries and reports. The major focus of the journal is in mechanisms of, and translational laboratory and clinical research into localised and systemic immune-inflammatory and degenerative diseases of the musculoskeletal system.
Years available: 1999 - Present
Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases
Annals of the Rheumatic Diseases (ARD) is an international peer review journal covering all aspects of rheumatology, which includes the spectrum of musculoskeletal conditions, arthritic disease, and connective tissue disorders. ARD publishes basic, clinical, and translational scientific research.
Years available: 1939 - 6 months ago
Rheumatology
he journal’s subject areas cover a wide range of paediatric and adult rheumatological conditions from an international perspective. It is an official journal of the British Society for Rheumatology, published by Oxford University Press.
Years available: 2009 - 2014

Societies and Online Resources

American College of Rheumatology
The American College of Rheumatology (ACR) is an ethically-driven, professional membership organization committed to improving the care of patients with rheumatic disease and advancing the rheumatology subspecialty. Founded in 1934, we are a not-for-profit, global medical society that serves over 8,500 physicians, health professionals, and scientists worldwide.
Coalition of State Rheumatology Societies
Since its beginning CSRO representatives and officers have had the pleasure of assisting groups of rheumatologists in many areas in the formation of new state societies and encouraging active societies to incorporate advocacy into their normal activities.

Geriatric Medicine

Encyclopedia of Gerontology by James E. Birren (Editor-In-Chief); Suresh I. S. Rattan (Editor-In-Chief); Thomas R. Cole (Editorial Board Member); Gloria Gutman (Editorial Board Member); Victor W. Marshall (Editorial Board Member); Edward J. Masoro (Editorial Board Member); K. Warner Schaie (Editorial Board Member); David Solomon (Editorial Board Member)
Call Number: RC952.5 .E58 2007
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 20007
Encyclopedia of Aging by Richard Schulz
Call Number: HQ1061 .E53 2006
New York : Springer Pub. Company, 2006
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines by Jill C. Cash (Editor); Cheryl A. Glass (Editor)
Online Resource
New York : Springer Publishing Company, 2016

Selected Journal

Journal of the American Geriatrics Society
The primary goal of the Journal of the American Geriatrics Society is to publish articles that are relevant in the broadest terms to the clinical care of older persons. Such articles may span a variety of disciplines and fields and may be of immediate, intermediate, or long-term potential benefit to clinical practice.
Years available: 1996 - Present
The Journals of Gerontology - Series A and B
Journal from the Gerontological Society of America, this journal is split into two parts, Series A (Biological Sciences and Medical Sciences) and B (Psychological Sciences and Social Sciences).
Years available: 1996 - Present
Neurobiology of Aging
Neurobiology of Aging publishes the results of studies in behavior, biochemistry, cell biology, endocrinology, molecular biology, morphology, neurology, neuropathology, pharmacology, physiology and protein chemistry in which the primary emphasis involves mechanisms of nervous system changes with age or diseases associated with age.
Years available: 1995 - Present

Societies and Online Resources

American Geriatrics Society
The American Geriatrics Society (AGS) is a nationwide, not-for-profit society of geriatrics healthcare professionals dedicated to improving the health, independence, and quality of life of older people. Our 6,000+ members include geriatricians, geriatric nurses, social workers, family practitioners, physician assistants, pharmacists, and internists.
The Gerontology Society of America
GSA is the oldest and largest interdisciplinary organization devoted to research, education, and practice in the field of aging. GSA’s principal mission — and that of our 5,500 members — is to promote the study of aging and disseminate information to scientists, decision makers, and the general public.
National Council on Aging
The National Council on Aging was founded in 1950 as the first charitable organization in the U.S. that would provide a national voice for older Americans and act as their advocates in dealing with service providers and policymakers.

Medicine & Health: Internal Medicine Resources

General Internal Medicine

Cardiology

Endocrinology

Critical Care Medicine

Library of Congress Call Numbers - Internal Medicine

Popular Books on Internal Medicine

Allergies/Immunology

Rheumatology

Geriatric Medicine

Reference & Instruction Department