Research Guides @ Fordham: Medicine & Health: Databases &amp; Recommended Resources

Medicine Databases

American Hospital Directory This link opens in a new window
Profiles of over 6,000 hospitals including key characteristics, utilization, and financial information. Must be accessed in the library. Please ask a Reference Librarian to log in for you. Operating Trends, Profile Compare, and System Compare options are not available.
BioMed Central BMC This link opens in a new window
Several hundred peer-reviewed open access journals covering Science, Technology and Medicine subject areas from Springer Science+Business Media.
Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Full text of many articles from health and fitness magazines, medical periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Formerly Health Reference Center Academic.
Health Source: Nursing (Academic Edition) This link opens in a new window
Full text and abstracts for health journals focusing on many medical topics, especially nursing and drugs.
JAMA This link opens in a new window
Subscribed content limited to JAMA, JAMA Psychiatry and JAMA Pediatrics 1998-current. Limit searches to subscribed content only. For search strings with more than 255 characters, use PubMed with journal JAMA.

medRxiv
medRxiv (pronounced med archive) is a preprint service for the medicine and health sciences and provides a free online platform for researchers to share, comment, and receive feedback on their work. Please note: although documents are screened prior to posting, medRxiv preprints are not formally peer reviewed and any content or results should not be used for clinical medicine.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) This link opens in a new window
A resource providing access to biomedical and genomic information created by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health.
National Center for Health Statistics This link opens in a new window
NCHS is part of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention; responsible for collecting vital U.S. health statistics.
ProQuest Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Books and journals, some full text, from leading publications covering all aspects of health administration. Includes hundreds of doctoral dissertations on health subjects.
PTSDPubs (formerly PILOTS) This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering literature on traumatic stress sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. It provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health traumatic events.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine NLM.
Thieme Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over fifty health, medicine and science Open Access titles.Chrome browser recommended.

Citizen Science Resources

CitiSci
CitSci.org was developed through the Natural Resources Ecology Lab (NREL) at Colorado State University as an initiative to promote citizen involvement in scientific research. It provides tools for the entire research process including: creating new projects, managing project members, building custom data sheets, analyzing collected data, and gathering participant feedback.
CitizenScience.gov
CitizenScience.gov is an official government website designed to accelerate the use of crowdsourcing and citizen science across the U.S. government. The site provides a portal to three key components: a catalog of federally supported citizen science projects, a toolkit to assist federal practitioners with designing and maintaining their projects, and a gateway to a community of hundreds of citizen science.
Citizen Science Association
The Citizen Science Association (CSA) is a member-driven organization that connects people from a wide range of experiences around one shared purpose: advancing knowledge through research and monitoring done by, for, and with members of the public.
SciStarter
SciStarter is an online community dedicated to improving the citizen science experience for project managers and participants. Over 3,000 projects and events are searchable by location, scientific topic, and age level, and by joining SciStarter, members can track their contributions and provide valuable feedback. SciStarter also supports researchers in managing projects, including best practices for engaging participant partners.
Zooniverse
The Zooniverse is the world’s largest and most popular platform for people-powered research. This research is made possible by volunteers — more than a million people around the world who come together to assist professional researchers. The goal is to enable research that would not be possible, or practical, otherwise. Zooniverse research results in new discoveries, datasets useful to the wider research community, and many publications.

Medicine and Health Oriented Citizen Science Projects

Bash The Bug
To help tackle this rise in bacterial resistance to antibiotics, it is vital that Doctors know which antibiotics can and cannot be used to treat a patient with a bacterial infection such as Tuberculosis (TB). By combining volunteer results, as a consensus, with those of the expert, the goal is to improve the accuracy and consistency of the bacteria measurements.
Science Scribbler
This project studies cells affected by Huntington's Disease. The shape and structure of cells are studied using 3D images. Volunteers localize the center of the organelles in order to help scientists differentiate between healthy and diseased cells.
Rodent Little Brother: Secret Lives of Mice
This project allows mice to be observed undisturbed in their home-cages with other mice. By having volunteers record the behavior of mice, it will be easier to identify changes in behavior without any physical human intervention. This data will eventually be used to train machine learning algorithms to recognize mice behaviors

Mutli-Disciplinary Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Full text of Annual Reviews on subscription, mostly in the sciences. No access to Economics and Computer Science titles.
Elsevier ScienceDirect Journals This link opens in a new window
Full text of subscribed journals and four collections - Business, Management and Accounting, Economics and Econometrics, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
HighWire Press Journals This link opens in a new window
Provides free full text articles from hundreds of journals (mostly back years and science) or pay-per-view option to purchase.
Nature Journal This link opens in a new window
Nature is a weekly international journal publishing the finest peer-reviewed research in all fields of science and technology.
Public Library of Science (PLOS) This link opens in a new window
A non-profit organization dedicated to making scientific literature freely available by publishing a suite of influential Open Access journals across all areas of science and medicine. Includes submission of papers that have been shared
as preprints.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
On ProQuest's platform. A definitive resource for students studying both the applied and general sciences. Provides access to charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements vital to scientific and technical literature.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering thousands of titles in Science, Social Sciences, Physical Sciences, Health Science, and Arts & Humanities going back to 1960.
Wiley Online Library - All Journals Database 2023 This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to all Wiley Journals - 2023 Collection. Typical access is 1996/1997 to Present. Always click on the journal title to see specific years of access, even if there is no access icon visible on the front page.

Online Medicine Resources

Merck Manual - Consumer Version
Treatments for thousands of diseases and conditions. Contains photographs, audio and video material.
MedWatch: the FDA Safety Information Program
The FDA's regulatory site. Important information for consumers and medical professionals.
MedlinePlus
The National Library of Medicine's consumer health database.
MIT OpenCourseWare - Health and Medicine
Free courses from MIT that include slides, lectures, and reading schedules.
UpToDate Mobile App
The UpToDate system is an evidence-based clinical resource. It includes a collection of medical and patient information, access to Lexi-comp drug monographs and drug-to-drug interactions, and a number of medical calculators. It requires a subscription for full access.
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions. The Web site is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
National Institutes of Health
NIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.
Center for Disease Control
CDC is one of the major operating components of the Department of Health and Human Services. CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S.

Medical Podcasts

JAMA Clinical Reviews
Author interviews that explore the latest clinical reviews.
New England Journal of Medicine Interviews
Interviews with prominent members of the medical field on current health topics.
NEJM This Week — Audio Summaries
Summaries of the latest in medical research, reviews, and perspectives from the NEJM
Nature Medicine
The Nature Medicine Podcast reports on cutting-edge news in biomedical research from around the globe.
Listen to The Lancet
Professionals discuss the latest topics on medicine and research.