Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Data
Dataset Search from Google
Look for datasets from research projects that have opted in to this service. This project is also working to promote standard practices among dataset cataloging and organization through the use of schema.org and similar standards.
A free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline. Datasets can be shared, exported, and searched for, as well as organized by institution, researcher, or journal.
A crowd-sourced collection of information extracted from Wikimedia projects. This is a Linked Open Data project, and focuses on connecting the large amount of data available through various Wikimedia projects.
Google's Public Data Directory
Google's public data repository that allows the user to search and save datasets, all of which are publically available.
Kaggle is a data science company that allows users to search and publish datasets. Many of the datasets on Kaggle are open source.
Registry of Open Data on AWS
A registry of all the open data available via Amazon Web Services resources. Includes data from Facebook Data for Good, Digital Earth Africa, NOAA Big Data Program, the Amazon Sustainability Data Initiative, and more.
World Data System
The World Data System (WDS) is a body of the Interdisciplinary Science Council whose mission is to support the long-term stewardship of, and universal and equitable access to, quality-assured scientific data and data services, products, and information across all disciplines in the Natural and Social Sciences, and the Humanities.
Zenodo is a general-purpose open-access repository that allows for the deposit and storage of research software, data sets, and other digital artifacts. It is run by CERN and was developed under the OpenAIRE program.
A website by Google that analyzes the popularity of top search queries in Google Search across various regions and languages. Data is workable and downloadable.
National Science Foundation Open Data
Datasets published by the National Science Foundation about the organization and its functioning.
CERN Open Data
Particle physics open data from CERN, these datasets can be explored, along with the software and documentation related to processing this data.
National Centers for Environmental Information Data
Formerly the National Climatic Data Center from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, these data collections are government data related to multiple climate and atmospheric studies.
USGS Earthquake Hazards Data
Data from the United States Geological Survey, along with tools for analysis and visualization.
UCI Machine Learning Repository
Data sets maintained by the UCI research community for the analysis of machine learning algorithms.
Scientific Data (from Nature)
Scientific Data is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal from Nature for descriptions of scientifically valuable datasets, and research that advances the sharing and reuse of scientific data.
Open Science Data Cloud
The Open Science Data Cloud provides the scientific community with resources for storing, sharing, and analyzing terabyte and petabyte-scale scientific datasets.
Open Data Science Conference
DSC – Open Data Science Conference – is for anyone who wants to connect to the data science community and contribute to the open source applications it uses every day.
Center for Open Science
The mission of the Center for Open Science (COS) is to increase openness, integrity, and reproducibility of research. They are working towards a future where the scholarly community has open and accessible processes, content, and outcomes of research.
An open platform for sharing MRI, MEG, EEG, iEEG, and ECoG data, supported by the Laura and John Arnold Foundation, the National Science Foundation, the National Institute on Drug Abuse, SquishyMedia, and Stanford.
Allen Brain Maps
Online, 3D, free brain atlases spanning across multiple uses and species. Allows for multiple methods of exploration and discovery. From the Allen Institute.
The BigBrain Project is responsible for BigBrain, a freely accessible high-resolution 3D atlas of the human brain.
Neuroimaging Tools & Resources Collaboratory
A free collection of resources such a s neuroimaging analysis software, publicly available datasets, and computing power. NITRC is an aggregator of under-used neuroimaging tools and datasets, and makes it easy to search for and evaluate these resources.
A tool for the meta-analysis of neuroimaging studies. The data this tool is trained on is also available, along with the code for the tool, on GitHub.
United States Government Data
The landing site for the federal government's open datasets. Explore by topic, look through resources, and search by keyword for datasets.
data.gov - Open Government
The US Federal Government Open Data project site. This contains links to open data across the country and the world, as well as federal data.
A list of government APIs and the link to creating and API key that works across all federally available API services.
Access to US Census data, including maps, visualizations, and downloadable datasets.
New York Data
New York State Open Data
Open data from all areas of the New York State Government, including health, budget, safety, and transportation data.
NYC Open Data
Open data from New York City that covers all areas of city life, including government, education, environment, health, and the popular squirrel census.
The landing page for all available data associated with the CDC data project.
CDC Data List
A list of all locations for open and available CDC data, including data.CDC.gov.
CDC Statistics Quick Links
Quick links to statistics and tools from the CDC.
World Health Organization Open Data Repository
Open and freely useable data from the WHO, covering a variety of public and world health topics.
Data compiled by UNICEF on education, child and maternal mortality, water and sanitation resources, antenatal care, and other issues that UNICEF addresses.
Datahub is a data organization company that collects data pertaining to different areas of study. Check out their data collections to find information related to climate change, demographics, education, and much more.
Humanitarian Data Exchange
A platform for sharing and searching for data related to crises across topics.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Data Policies
The Met's data policies, as well as links to their GitHub page, which contains their exhibition and collection data.
Museum of Modern Art Open Data Sets
Collection and exhibition data from MoMA.
National Endowment for the Humanities Open Data
Data from the National Endowment for the Humanities, including information about grant offerings, results, and yearly information.
New York Public Library Digital Collections API
An API you can use to access the repository data of NYPL. This includes a huge number of public domain objects.
Rijksmuseum Open Data
Data from the Rijksmuseum, including object data, bibliographic data, and their controlled vocabularies.
US College Scorecard Data
From the US Department of Education, this data includes information about student debt, completion rates, and ultimate earnings of students.
World Bank Open Data
Find World Bank data easily using this site. Data can be downloaded in bulk, and there is a web API available.
Free fake API for testing and prototyping.
A free way to test out Python regular expressions.
A powerful tool for working with messy data. Can convert between data formats, conect to web services (including Wikidata and Wikipedia), and has wide-ranging abilities to tidy and transform data.
JASP is an open-source project from the University of Amsterdam - made for statistical analysis, it offers analysis procedures in both classical and Baysian form.
The jamovi project was founded to develop a free and open statistical platform which is intuitive to use, and can provide the latest developments in statistical methodology.
Science and Technology Librarian
Reference and Digital Humanities Librarian
Reference & Instruction Department
Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries
Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
firstname.lastname@example.org ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)