Research Guides @ Fordham: Dance: Articles

Best Bet Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multi-disciplinary full text database with thousands of periodicals and other publications.
Dance Online: Dance in Video (Volumes I & II) This link opens in a new window
Covers the full scope of 20th and 21st century dance. The collection includes performances, documentaries, interviews, and instructional videos from the most influential performers and companies.
Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Presents the historical context of 20th and 21st century dance through 150,000 pages of exclusive photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 500 titles; nearly 200 journals and 400 books and monographs.
International Index to Music Periodicals
Music Periodicals Database with index to hundreds of music journals and some links to full text.
SEE Music Periodicals Database
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (International Index to Performing Arts) This link opens in a new window
The IIPA draws its current content from more than 130 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries and also indexes performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. IIPA covers nearly all aspects of the world of the performing arts, from the most scholarly studies to the latest crazes. Coverage is from 1864 to the present. Records from 1998 forward contain an abstract.
JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
NEW AI RESEARCH TOOL (BETA). Hundreds of academic journals in full text from v.1: n.1. Primary source materials include 19th Century British Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, and World Heritage Sites: Africa. Artstor database of visual media is now accessible from the JSTOR platform. NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources). Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Music and Dance Online This link opens in a new window
Catalog of music content to support the teaching and research of music. The multimedia resource features works from thousands of respected partners, covers hundreds of genres from alternative rock to zydeco and from alternative dance to operatic arias, and encompasses a wide range of content formats—including scores, reference, and high definition audio and video.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971
Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
Proquest platform enabling the ability to cross-search American Film Institute Catalog (AFI), Film Index International (FII) and FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals database.

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Cannot find items you need for your research?

Materials not owned by Fordham can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
Consortia privileges provide you with additional access to other research collections* beyond Fordham’s holdings.

*Check with the library you intend to visit to be sure that in-person access is available at this time.

Legend

The following icons are used in the databases lists:

Limited simultaneous users.

Password required.

Open access content.

Contains multimedia content such as music or video.

Contains statistical data. Contains statistics / data.

Search Terms

Below are subject headings you can use to search databases:

Art and Dance
Arts, Medieval
Ballerinas
Ballet
Ballet -- Aesthetics
Ballet -- Costume
Ballet dance music
Ballet dancers
Ballet dancing -- Accidents and injuries
Ballets -- Excerpts -- Piano Scores
Bible and dance
Choreographers -- Germany -- Biography
Choreography -- Philosophy
Dance
Dance -- Aesthetics
Dance -- Anthropological aspects
Dance -- Biography
Dance companies
Dance criticism
Dance -- History
Dance in literature
Dance music -- Europe -- 14th century [Dance music -- Continent -- century]
Dance notation
Dance -- Philosophy
Dance -- Production and direction
Dance -- Religious aspects
Dance -- Religious aspects -- History -- Medieval period
Dance -- Sex differences
Dance -- Social aspects
Dance -- Spain -- History [Dance--Country--History--"X" Century]
Dance -- Study and teaching
Dancers
Dancers -- Germany -- Biography [Dancers -- Country -- Biography]
Dancing injuries
Choreography
Choreography -- Philosophy
Labanotation
Modern dance -- Aesthetics
Modern dance -- Political aspects -- Germany -- History
Modern dance -- Social aspects -- Germany -- History
Modern dance -- United States -- History
Movement, Aesthetics of
Movement analysis
Movement notation
Movement (Philosophy)
Movement, Psychology of
Movement, Psychology of -- Cross-cultural studies
Religious dance
Religious dance -- History
Sex in dance

Magazines & Journals

American Journal of Dance Therapy
This journal of the American Dance Therapy Association reports the latest findings in dance/movement therapy theory, research, and clinical practice. The American Journal of Dance Therapy (AJDT) presents original contributions, case material, reviews, and studies by leading educators and practitioners in the field. - Springer
Dance Chronicle
For dance scholars, professors, practitioners, and aficionados, Dance Chronicle is indispensable for keeping up with the rapidly changing field of dance studies. Dance Chronicle publishes research on a wide variety of Western and non-Western forms, including classical, avant-garde, and popular genres, often in connection with the related arts: music, literature, visual arts, theatre, and film. Our purview encompasses research rooted in humanities-based paradigms: historical, theoretical, aesthetic, ethnographic, and multi-modal inquiries into dance as art and/or cultural practice. - Taylor and Francis (Peer reviewed.)
Dance Magazine
Published since 1927, this periodical covers all things dance related.
Dance Research
Ranging from the history of European theatrical dance to dance anthropology & renaissance spectacle. (Peer reviewed.)
Dance Research Journal
DRJ is a peer-reviewed premiere publication for dance scholarship of international reach and includes articles, book reviews, and lists books received. Published articles address dance history, theory, pedagogy, politics, science, ethnography, and intersections with cultural, gender, critical race, and diasporic studies among others. DRJ is committed to cross-disciplinary research with a dance perspective. - Congress on Research in Dance (Peer reviewed.)
Research in Dance Education
Research in Dance Education aims to inform, stimulate lively and critical debate and promote the development of high quality research and practice in dance education. The journal is relevant to dance academics, teachers and learners. - Taylor and Francis (Peer reviewed.)

Dance: Articles

Best Bet Databases

Need Materials from Outside Fordham?

Legend

Search Terms

Magazines & Journals

Reference & Instruction Department