Research Guides @ Fordham: Dance: Databases &amp; Web Resources

Web Content

Dance/NYC
In association with Dance USA, this site provides a community calendar of performances and auditions as well as information for artists and audiences.
Dance/USA
"Dance/USA is the national voice for the professional field of dance, serving over 500 organizational and individual members nation-wide. Dance/USA supports the work of administrators and artists, and sustains and advances the field by addressing the needs and interests of dance professionals."
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
"Documenting hundreds of artists who have appeared at the Pillow from the 1930s to the present day, this resource offers carefully-chosen excerpts from the Archives’ extensive video collection accompanied by contextual information, plus an extensive section of multimedia essays that include talks, photos, and other exclusive content organized into various themes."
Library of Congress Performing Arts Encyclopedia
New York Public Library for the Performing Arts
Located right by our Lincoln Center campus, the Performing Arts Library houses one of the word's most extensive collections of Dance resources, including books, historic recordings, videotapes, autograph manuscripts, correspondence, sheet music, stage designs, press clippings, programs, posters and photographs. Located at 40 Lincoln Center Plaza.

New York Times Dance Section

Daily links to new articles published in the New York Times Dance section.

Martha Graham Dance Company

Billy Rose Theatre Division, The New York Public Library. "Martha Graham Dance Company in a Martha Graham production of "Diversion of Angels" (New York)" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1980.

Music Databases

Music and Dance Online: American Music This link opens in a new window
Provides a suite of online audio recordings to support the teaching of American musical traditions including country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B and more.
Music and Dance Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
Fully searchable classical music resource containing 75,000 albums across thousands of composers, ensembles, and genres.
National Jukebox This link opens in a new window
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Resources for music research including Grove Music Online - the leading dictionary of music, musicians, opera and jazz. Fordham University community can ignore the log in box!
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
Over two million tracks of classical music, jazz, folk, new age, gospel, blues, and Chinese music. Please click log-out button when finished, 10 simultaneous users limit.

Voulez-vous danser?

Manuscripts and Archives Division, The New York Public Library. "Art Exhibits - Masterpieces of Art Exhibit - L'Etoile (Degas)" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1935 - 1945.

Dance: Databases & Web Resources

Web Content

New York Times Dance Section

Martha Graham Dance Company

Music Databases

Voulez-vous danser?

Reference & Instruction Department