Research Guides @ Fordham: Chinese American History: Finding Scholarly Articles

Selected Databases

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Searches the index and abstracts of history journals focused on the U.S. and Canada from 1910 to present.

JSTOR & ARTSTOR (WITH AI RESEARCH TOOL - BETA) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of hundreds of academic journals as well as primary source content. Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to; look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. No access to ebooks.
NOTE: Basic and advanced searching defaults to "read and download" content we subscribe to. Browsing defaults to "all content." Look for the Access Level limiter on the lower left side to change settings. Access excludes ebooks, Thematic Collections and Global Plants (part of Primary Sources).Fordham does not subscribe to the Constellate text/data analytics service. Users can download full datasets with up to 25,000 items. CLICK HERE FOR INFORMATION.
JSTOR Subscribed Collections with Access:
Arts & Sciences I through XV, Ireland, Life Sciences, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants,19th Century British Pamphlets.
ARTSTOR notes:
To go directly to Collections, use the Browse function dropdown (upper right corner) or filtering on the left side after doing a search.
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of hundreds of journals including current issues. Additional features available with the creation of a personal account. NOTE: We do not have access to all content in this database; limit your search by selecting 'Only content I have access to' in the facets pane on the left.

ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of articles on broad range of subjects since 1971.

Selected Chinese & Asian American Journals

Chinese America, History and Perspectives
Annual peer reviewed journal from the Chinese Historical Society of America, 1997-present.
Journal of Asian American Studies
Peer reviewed journal from the Association for Asian American Studies. Offers full text from 1998 to present. Latest issues will be delayed.
Amerasia Journal
Peer reviewed journal from the Asian American Studies Center at UCLA. Fordham has from 1997 to present electronically & some print access from 1990-2012.

Chinese Journals via NYPL

Chinese E-Journal Collection (Qikan)
NYPL cardholders can access 150 popular journals in Chinese language.

Boolean Searching & Peer Review

⇒ For quick tutorials on using Boolean search strategies, try the following short videos:

How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Modifiers from McMaster Libraries

How Library Stuff Works: Boolean Operators from McMaster Libraries

⇒ Consult the Database Search Tips from MIT Libraries for additional insights into structuring your search terms.

⇒ Confused about what "peer review" or "scholarly articles" means? Watch Peer Review in 3 Minutes from North Carolina State University Libraries.

Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing books or accessing articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries requires assistance from Interlibrary Loan.

ILLiad
Open an account with Interlibrary Loan to request access to books, articles, etc. that Fordham does not own.

New York Public Library Resources

Get a New York Public Library Card
Available to anyone 13 or older who lives, works, attends school, or pays property taxes in New York State.

Chinese American History: Finding Scholarly Articles