Skip to Main Content

Chinese American History: Finding Books

An overview of resources on Chinese American History at Fordham University Libraries and beyond.

Finding Books

This page offers resources on how to find books at Fordham through:

  • Video tutorials for searching the Classic Library Catalog or OneSearch;
  • How to search by Library of Congress subject heading;
  • How to request books or book chapters from books that Fordham does not own through InterLibrary Loan;
  • How to request a scan of a book chapter from a print book that Fordham owns through the Document Delivery service;
  • A database link to OCLC FirstSearch, the subscription version of WorldCat, to search for books beyond Fordham.

OneSearch & Library Catalogs

There are multiple ways you can search for print & electronic books at Fordham:

► OneSearch aggregates books Fordham owns plus some articles from databases. It also includes bibliographic records for content that Fordham does not own.

 

► Library Catalog

The new Library Catalog is still being refined.

  • At the moment, using a browser connector associated with bibliographic software like Zotero or EndNote is limited. Try ingesting bibliographic records from OneSearch or the Classic Library Catalog instead.

 

Classic Library Catalog

Find the Classic Library Catalog by pulling down the Collections menu > Classic Library Catalog:

Decorative

Searching with Subject Headings

Copy and paste the Library of Congress Subject Headings below to find books on Chinese American history topics:

  • Chinese Americans--Biography
  • Chinese Americans--Ethnic identity
  • Chinese Americans--History
  • Chinese--United States--Social conditions
  • Chinatown (New York, N.Y.)  {substitute other city names for other Chinatowns.}
  • United States--Foreign relations--China
  • China--Foreign relations--United States

 

► You can use these subject headings in OneSearch by using the field options to select SU Subject Terms:

 

► Or your can search by subject in the Classic Library Catalog:

Interlibrary Loan

Borrowing books or accessing articles that are not available at any of the Fordham University Libraries requires assistance from Interlibrary Loan.

Requesting Book Chapters & Print Journal Articles

WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch

Find items outside of Fordham with WorldCat / OCLC FirstSearch, a platform searching across the largest network of library collections around the world.

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries


Walsh Library  ♦  Rose Hill Campus  ♦  718-817-3586   
Quinn Library  ♦  Lincoln Center Campus  ♦  212-636-6050   
Fordham Westchester Library  ♦  Fordham Westchester Campus  ♦  914-367-3061 
library@fordham.edu   ♦   text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ 
Ask a Librarian (Chat)