Research Guides @ Fordham: Chinese American History: News & Magazines

Recent History Newspaper Collections

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
Offers a combination of international, national, regional, and local news. Check each title for dates covered.

Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text of ethnic and community newspapers including Asian American newspapers from 1959-present (coverage varies by publication).

US Newsstream (Formerly National Newspapers Premier) This link opens in a new window
Offers recent U.S. news with archives back to the 1980s from newspapers, newswires, blogs, etc. Includes the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, The Wall Street Journal, plus local and regional newspapers.

Newspaper Source (Ebsco) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text access to more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers, selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers, and television & radio news transcripts.

Asian Life in America - 2018 to Today This link opens in a new window
From Readex/Newsbank. Offers limited access (2018-present) to news content on Asian American topics.

Newspapers at NYPL

New York Public Library offers many databases with primary sources that Fordham does not own. For increased access to materials, get a library card with New York Public Library. Many resources can be used remotely with an NYPL library card.

NYPL Resources that may help with Chinese American history research:

Historical Newspaper & Magazine Collections

Major newspapers:

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index This link opens in a new window
Full text of The New York Times for 1851-2017.

Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Full text of the Washington Post for 1877-2004.

Historical Newspapers: The Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text of the L.A. Times for 1881-1996.

Smaller newspapers:

America's Historical Newspapers, Early American Series 1-5 (1690-1922) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to digitized American newspapers from 1690 - 1922.

Accessible Archives (SEE History Commons) This link opens in a new window
Offers text transcriptions of 19th century American books, newspapers, and magazines.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides select digitized newspaper pages from across the U.S. from 1770 - 1963.

Magazines:

American Periodicals (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Offers magazines and journals published between 1740 - 1940.

Image credit: "First Chinese Woman to Register" via The Tacoma Times (Tacoma, Wash.), 17 Oct. 1916 from Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers, Library of Congress.

Quick Links to Selected Magazines

Chinese American Forum
1984 to present.

Gidra: The Monthly of the Asian American Experience
Selected recent issues in print at RH and LC. Digital access from April 1969 to April 1974; 1990 20th anniversary issue; 1999 to 2001.

Radio & Television News Content

Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996 This link opens in a new window
Translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents and more on immigration, refugees, and global issues.

American Archive of Public Broadcasting This link opens in a new window
Offers 122,000+ items of digitized television and radio programs contributed by more than 140 public media organizations and archives across the United States.

Research Help

Not finding the information you need?

Chat live with a librarian to get some help.

Chinese American History: News & Magazines