Research Guides @ Fordham: Chinese American History: Background Information & Research Help

Background Information Sources

Chinese Americans : The History and Culture of a People by Jonathan H. X. Lee (ed.)
ABC-CLIO, 2015.
Call number [RH Reference Area] E184.C5 C4793 2015
Asian Americans [electronic resource] : An Encyclopedia of Social, Cultural, Economic, and Political History by Xiaojian Zhao (Editor)
Greenwood Press, 2014.
Asian American History and Culture [electronic resource] : An Encyclopedia by Allan W. Austin and Huping Ling
M.E. Sharpe, 2013.
Encyclopedia of Chinese-American Relations by Yuwu Song (editor)
McFarland and Company, 2006.
Call number [RH Reference Area] E183.8.C5 E53 2006
The Encyclopedia of the Chinese Overseas by Lynn Pan (editor)
Call Number: [RH Reference Area] DS732 .E53 1999

See pages 261-273 for the section on the United States.

Credo Reference - Academic Core
Offers a collection of electronic subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions, and readers.

Language & Dictionaries

A History Reclaimed : An Annotated Bibliography of Chinese Language Materials on the Chinese of America by H. Mark Lai (Compiled by); Russell Leong; Jean Pang Yip (eds.)
Resource Development and Publications, Asian American Studies Center, UCLA, 1986.
Call number [RH Reference Area] Z1361.C4 L35 1986
The Origin of Chinese Characters [electronic resource] : An Illustrated History and Word Guide by Kihoon Lee
Algora Publishing, 2018.

The Miriam and Ira D. Wallach Division of Art, Prints and Photographs Collection, The New York Public Library. "Chinatown, New York." New York Public Library Digital Collections. Accessed October 5, 2023.

Research Help

Tierney Gleason

she/her/hers

Contact:

Rose Hill Campus | Walsh Family Library | Room 129
tgleason11@fordham.edu

718.817.3574

Subjects: Anthropology, Archaeology, & Sociology, Communication & Media Studies (Film & TV), Ethnic, Regional, & Cultural Studies, Fashion Studies, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History (American), History (World), Humanitarian Studies, Law, Library & Information Science, Political Science & Government, Religion & Theology, Urban Studies, Visual & Performing Arts (Music, Dance, Theater)

Reference & Instruction Department

Reference & Instruction Department
Fordham University Libraries

Walsh Library ♦ Rose Hill Campus ♦ 718-817-3586
Quinn Library ♦ Lincoln Center Campus ♦ 212-636-6050
Fordham Westchester Library ♦ Fordham Westchester Campus ♦ 914-367-3061
library@fordham.edu ♦ text 71-TXTX-1284 ♦ Ask a Librarian (Chat)