Research Guides @ Fordham: Middle East Studies: Political Surveys & Conflict Studies

Political Surveys & Country Profiles - Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs since 1991. Includes working papers from university research institutes, conference proceedings, books, journals and policy briefs. Some resources have partial content only!
Country Watch This link opens in a new window
Political, business & economic intelligence, data, analysis, briefings & news across the globe. Detailed information on most countries including maps, culture, names of leaders, religions, and more. NO access to Forecasts.
Country Studies (Library of Congress) This link opens in a new window
Online editions of the Library of Congress Country Studies created for the U.S. Dept of Army between 1988-1998. Current editions not available.

IMF International Monetary Fund

"On this site, the term "country" does not in all cases refer to a territorial entity that is a state as understood by international law and practice. As used here, the term also covers some territorial entities that are not states. Dependent territories of member countries are listed alphabetically followed by a description of the constitutional relationships with their member countries."

IMF International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics for all countries compiled by the IMF. Includes thousands of time series appearing on IFS Country Pages and World Tables. Also includes International Financial Statistics, Balance of Payments, Direction of Trade, Government Finance Statistics, and more. CLICK ON MORE FOR REGISTRATION & LOGIN INFORMATION
*Must register and log in with personal username and password in order to download data. See upper right corner.
IMF eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Online archive of IMF publications, dating back to 1946. Content includes Books and Analytical Papers, Notes and Manuals, Official Reports, Documents, and Periodicals. Information such as statistical data, blogs, podcasts, videos, country information, and additional databases can be found from the IMF Sites button at the top right of any page.

Conflict & War Studies

Conflict and Conquest in the Islamic World by Alexander Mikaberidze (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS38.3 .C66 2011
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2011.
Conflict in the Modern Middle East : an Encyclopedia of Civil War, Revolutions, and Regime Change by Jonathan K. Zartman (Editor)
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, an imprint of ABC-CLIO, LLC, [2020]
The Encyclopedia of Middle East Wars by Spencer C. Tucker (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS63.1 .E453 2010
Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, 2010.
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict by Cheryl A. Rubenberg (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS119.7 .E568 2010
Boulder, Colo.: Lynne Rienner Publishers, 2010.
The Iraq War : a documentary and reference guide by Thomas R. Mockaitis
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Greenwood, [2012]
The Iraq War Encyclopedia by Thomas R. Mockaitis
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2013]
Middle East Almanac: U.S. Military Action in the Region, 1979 to the Present by John C. Fredriksen
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS63.15 .F77 2011
New York: Facts On File, 2011.
Middle East Conflict Reference Library, 2nd ed. by Gale
Call Number: (RH) Ref DS119.7 .M4625 2012 (4 vols)
Detroit : Gale Cengage Learning, 2012.

v. 1 Almanac, v. 2 Biographies, v. 3 Primary sources, v. 4 Cumulative index
The Routledge Atlas of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 10th ed. by Martin Gilbert
Call Number: (RH) Ref G2236.S1 G52 2012
New York: Routledge, 2012.
Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict, 2nd ed. by P. R. Kumaraswamy
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield, 2015.

Political Surveys - Books

The Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa by David E. Long (Editor); Bernard Reich (Editor); Mark Gasiorowski (Editor)
Call Number: (RH) DS62.8 .G68 2011
Boulder, CO: Westview Press, c2011.
electronic book is the 7th edition, 2014
The Hundred Years' War on Palestine : A History of Settler Colonialism and Resistance, 1917-2017 by Rashid Khalidi
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks DS119.7 .K4279 2020
New York : Metropolitan Books, Henry Holt and Company, [2020]
The Modern Middle East: A Political History Since the First World War, 2nd ed. by Mehran Kamrava
Call Number: (RH) DS62.8 .K365 2011
Berkeley [Calif.]: University of California Press, 2011.

ISIS or ISIL

ISIS stands for the Islamic State in Iraq and Syria, it is also known as the Islamic State in Iraq and the Levant (ISIL) and Islamic State (IS).

The Caliphate at War : Operational Realities and Innovations of the Islamic State by Ahmed S. Hashim
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HV6433.I722 H375 2018
New York : Oxford University Press, 2018.
Isis : The Essential Reference Guide by Brian L. Steed
Call Number: (RH) Ref HV6433.I722 I8555 2019
Santa Barbara, California : ABC-CLIO, [2019]
Isis : A History by Fawaz A. Gerges
Call Number: (RH) Stacks HV6433 .I722 G47 2016
Princeton : Princeton University Press, [2016]
The Future of Isis : Regional and International Implications by Sumit Ganguly (Editor); Feisal A. R. Al-Istrabadi (Editor)
Washington, D.C. : Brookings Institution, 2018.
The Rise of Islamic State by Patrick Cockburn
Call Number: (LC, RH) Stacks HV6433.I722 C64 2015
London ; New York : Verso, [2015]

Middle East Studies: Political Surveys & Conflict Studies

Political Surveys & Country Profiles - Databases

Conflict & War Studies

Political Surveys - Books

ISIS or ISIL

Reference & Instruction Department